One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Archive for August 28th, 2008

8-28-08 Humans

Posted by Sean on August 28, 2008

Well, you did it, Shanoah. After watching those three Dragostea din tei videos, I now have a deep and undying hatred for the human race (as opposed to my previous shallow and extremely long-lived hatred for the human race) [1].

Reza Rasoli seems to share my loathing for the human race, as can be seen in this AniBOOM cartoon Humans!

But then came the great robot uprising in the fantastic futuristic year of 2000, and now – as related by Flight of the Conchords, out of Wellington, New Zealand – The Humans are Dead. And all I have to say is, “Thank God.”

From Flight of the Conchords’ 2007 album The Distant Future. Footage from their HBO series titled, appropriately enough, Flight of the Conchords. Courtesy of martiansunrise.

[1] And the hell of it is that I like Dragostea din tei. I just prefer it being sung by a fat guy into his webcam, not a boy band.

Posted in From Sean, Funny, Happy Media, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment »

Dragostea din tei

Posted by shanoah on August 28, 2008

Well, Sean, much as I like weird animation, I’m still in the mood for weird music.

This time, I grabbed a song I’m sure you know, though likely not by the official name, Dragostea din tei. You’re more likely to have known it as “Numa Numa”, or “that weird ‘My ah he my ah hu my ah ha my ah haha‘ thing”.

What struck me as interesting is that all sorts of countries have done covers of it. But first, to remind you, lets play the original:

Dragostea din tei (Numa Numa) - Ozone

The closest official translation of this song title appears to be “Love of the linden tree”. And this song is in Romanian, in case you were curious.

Now, for the expectedly bizarre Japanese version:

Koi no Buchiage Tengoku: Koi no Maiahi~Chiwawa~Banzai - Maeda Ken

A Japanese version of the song, that, being Japanese, involves crossdressing. Note that the teacher and the student with a crush on him are in fact the same person; a Japanese comedian.

And I’m still not sure where Chihuahua‘s come into it. And I think I’ll finish off with the Chinese version:

Bu Pa Bu Pa - Jocie Kok

Unlike the last version, this Mandrian Chinese version by Jocie Kok does not appear to be sung by someone in drag. In fact, the title of this version translates to “Not afraid, Not afraid”, and is about overcoming fears.

Though from the opening, at first I thought it was about cellphones. And I somehow suspect that the Japanese version is a parody of this version[1], though I can’t be sure…

[1] Especially given the artist name.

Posted in Blogs, Facts for Freaks and Other Criminals, FREAKIN' ME OUT MAN, From Shanoah, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List, Not Work Safe | Tagged: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment »