One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Archive for August 23rd, 2008

8-23-08 Einstürzende Neubauten – Stella Maris

Posted by Sean on August 23, 2008

Well, since we’re still doing German music

I got acquainted with Einstürzende Neubauten on WFMU‘s Strength Through Failure with Fabio. They’re known for making their own instruments out of scrap metal and construction equipment, giving them a very singular sound. Unfortunately, the song that I wanted to post – Let’s Do It a Dada, a fine showcase for their readymade instruments – isn’t on YouTube, or rather it is, but only in live performances with crappy audio quality and hooting fans.

Luckily, Einstürzende Neubauten has plenty of other videos up. This one – Stella Maris, with Meret Becker and off 1996’s Ende Neu – relies more on traditional instruments, so maybe it isn’t the most representative Einstürzende Neubauten song out there.

But I don’t care. It’s very winsome and full of longing, and I just like it.

Courtesy of MariaAntonia.

Posted in From Sean, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , , | 1 Comment »

Robot Scorpions

Posted by shanoah on August 23, 2008

Rock Me Amadeus? I’m so tempted to go with music from Mozart right now.

Instead, I think I’ll go with German music right now. You see, I recall another song with “Rock Me” in the title by a German band:

Rock Me Like a Hurricane – The Scorpions

This ever popular hard rock song is also notable in another way. It is off their album “Animal Magnetism”, which you may recall off the list of worst album covers ever.

This one, specifically:

Bad, isn’t it? Next, a duet between Joachim Witt and Peter Heppner. You may need to turn the sound down a bit:

Die Flut – Joachim Witt and Peter Heppner

Wow. I just find this song mesmerizing. I was curious, and googled the lyrics in English, as well, and they live up to the song.

All right, now turn the volume back up for this one, as it’s fairly quiet:

The Robots – Kraftwerk

Not the most complex of lyrics, this is still pretty cool. It reminds me of that episode of the Twilight Zone where the mannequin come to life[1].

[1] The After Hours

Posted in Blogs, bulldada, From Shanoah, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List, Not Work Safe | Tagged: , , , , , , | 1 Comment »