One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Archive for August 14th, 2008

8-14-08 Parts and Labor – A Great Divide

Posted by Sean on August 14, 2008

Continuing the Parts and Labor theme today, we move on to A Great Divide, off 2006’s Stay Afraid. Never has alienation and isolation sounded so damn heroic. Worth a listen or three.

You can listen or download the MP3 version of A Great Divide by clicking on the link below. It comes courtesy of Parts and Labor and the Audio/Video section on their Web site.

Parts and Labor – A Great Divide (MP3)

Posted in Blogs, free stuff, From Sean, Gooey Gummi Goodness, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Hurrah, I’m a Geek

Posted by shanoah on August 14, 2008

Someone might think I’m a geek? They’d be right, Sean. I am a geek. And this is not particularly a bad thing.

And I know what you mean about pop music that rises forever. Take this song:

Bach's Endlessly Rising Modulation Canon

This canon is designed so that it keeps rising, and loops back to the same place, an octave higher.

I ran into it because I’ve read Douglas Hofstadter’s “Gödel, Escher, Bach”. Which *really* proves I’m a geek.

And I do read Slashdot. I ran into this video on Slashdot a few days ago, in fact:

Large Hadron Rap

I just thought this was really cool. How often do you get to hear people sings about particle accelerators?

Though this a a particularly cool one; the largest in the world. And know we know what physicists do when they get down.

Though if you have that much dark matter, bring a light, or you might be eaten by a grue. ^_^

It is Pitch Dark - MC Frontalot

Another sign of my being a geek; I love text adventures. And I recognized most of the references here, having played almost all of Infocoms games, Dungeon, and a number of other text adventures.

Of course, I personally frotz grues.

The Infocom games used a virtual machine that’s been ported across just about all platforms, so you can download an interpreter from here, such as Frotz, and play them with it.

And a lot of games have been written that use that interpreter. The ones here, for example.

Then there’s this song, which has references to quite a lot of video games:


Dead Again - Possible Oscar

This song certainly owes something to “We Didn’t Start the Fire”, by Billy Joel. And I’ve played a lot of these games: Gauntlet, Out of This World, Monkey Island, Kingdom Hearts, and Myst, to name a few.

And died in most of them. Though dying takes real effort in Monkey Island; there’s only one spot in the game where it’s possible. Stay underwater for more then 10 minutes. 🙂

Oh, and Seans headed to his grandmothers memorial service for a few days. He wrote posts for that time period, which I’ll put up, but obviously we won’t be bouncing off each others posts for that time…

Posted in Blogs, bulldada, From Shanoah, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments »