One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

8-13-08 Parts and Labor – Fractured Skies

Posted by Sean on August 13, 2008

You read Slashdot, Shanoah? Be careful. Someone might think you’re a geek or something. 😉

Anyway, I’d like to continue to focus on Parts and Labor today with probably my favorite song from them: Fractured Skies, off 2007’s Mapmaker. Why is it one of my favorite songs? That requires a little explanation.

I’ve noticed lately in pop music that songs like to build you up, but not to release you. If you listen to pop music with any regularity, you know what I mean: A song will build you up with, as noted music scholar Dr. Gonzo put it, “a rising sound” – higher notes, rising volume – but won’t let you release that emotion. Jefferson Airplane’s White Rabbit is a perfect example: Grace Slick’s singing will get higher and louder, but she never “jumps off the cliff”. She never switches to a lower key, which allows you to release all the emotion that you’ve pent up during the song.

That’s why my favorite song from Nirvana isn’t Smells Like Teen Spirit but rather Heart-Shaped Box; I live for that cymbal crash in the refrain between “Hey, wait” and “I’ve got a new complaint”, which marks Kurt Cobain switching his voice to a lower register. And that’s why my favorite Parts and Labor song is Fractured Skies. It  builds you up and then lets you down rather nicely and, more than that, it does it multiple times. Very nice.

You can listen or download the MP3 version of Fractured Skies by clicking on the link below. It comes courtesy of Parts and Labor and the Audio/Video section on their Web site.

Parts and Labor – Fractured Skies (MP3)

2 Responses to “8-13-08 Parts and Labor – Fractured Skies”

  1. […] 8-13-08 Parts and Labor – Fractured Skies […]

  2. […] 8-13-08 Parts and Labor – Fractured Skies […]

Leave a Reply

 
