One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Archive for March 6th, 2008

3-6-08 The Scrantones – The Pennsylvania Polka

Posted by Sean on March 6, 2008

Aw, look, it’s Thing in a Halloween costume. Well, you know of course what we have to do with a severed-Carl-hand-wearing-a-Garfield-puppet: VOODOO RITUAL! Booga booga booga!

(Godzilla roar)

Ah! Lun! Lun for your rife! It is Hando no Caru Kaiju!

Well, I have the perfect soundtrack to play while the monstrous animated zombie hand of Carl – in a Garfield suit – rampages down the Strip and knocks over the Stratosphere (yes!). That’s right, everyone…

HOW ABOUT A NICE POLKA!

This is The Scrantones doing that Frankie Yankovic classic The Pennsylvania Polka, and no, I don’t know why I did this terrible terrible thing.

Now someone get some goddamned midget twins to sing this giant zombie hand – in a Garfield suit – to sleep!

Posted in From Sean, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Atomic Puppets

Posted by shanoah on March 6, 2008

All right, well, I thought I’d post – what’s this?

*bends down and picks up a hand*

Isn’t this Carl’s hand? Oh well, may as well put it to some use.

*Puts a puppet on it*

Anyways, here’s a video from a band that I’ve always found fascinating, They Might Be Giants. A band with strange lyrics that tend to stay in the mind, part of their distinctive sound is due to the fact that for quite a while, they were recording all their music on an answering machine.

They also were responsible for the “Dr. Evil” theme on Austin Powers 2, incidentally. This song is “Put your Hand Inside the Puppethead”:

And my second pick for today is a singer that Sean introduced me to, Adam Goren, or Atom and His Package. He is actually a Chemistry and Physics teacher, who, until 2003, would go on tour with his guitar and synthesizer (his package).

He sings (a bit off-key) about many bizarre and everyday things. Not too unlike They Might Be Giants in that way, really. Here he is singing a song titled “Pumping Iron For Enya”:

Posted in Blogs, From Shanoah, I Tunes Not U Tunes | Leave a Comment »