One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Archive for March 5th, 2008

3-5-08 Two Minutes of Insanity

Posted by Sean on March 5, 2008

Foist of all, my good friend Shanoah has put up his first post on One Neat Thing a Day! Let’s give the boy a hand!

(THUD splat)

You know what I mean, Carl.

Anyway, my neat thing today is somewhat hurried, as I have a D&D game tonight and have many things to do before then – you know, promises to keep and miles to go before I kick ass for the Lord. (I’m running a red half-dragon paladin of freedom with a holy flaming mercurial greatsword, and all I’ve got to say about him is “RAWK!”) (You think I’m kidding) You know how I am obsessed with like Francis E. Dec. Well, I’m not the only one. soaringchicken at YouTube had a project for his video editing class to splice together uncopyrighted footage into a new video. He/she/it/them decided to make an AMV for one of Dec’s rants as dramatized by Boyd “Doc” Britton.

I am now soaringchicken’s biggest fan.

Posted in From Sean, Happy Media, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

A Portal Opens…

Posted by shanoah on March 5, 2008

Some of you may have noticed this post isn’t from Sean. Some of the more observant of you may even recall my name having been mentioned several times previously here.

To introduce myself, my name is Shanoah, and I am insane. Not necessarily in a “Bwaaahaaahaaa!! Fools! I will destroy you all!” way (though I have to admit: been there, done that, thinking about buying the t-shirt), but in a rather similar way to Sean. Something along this line:

I once knew somebody who said that the only rational definition of insanity was when you saw a different reality than anyone else, and that your alternate reality, whether pretty or ugly, good or evil, was therefore false because it was yours alone. When most everyone else saw the same things you saw, felt the same things you felt, and believed what you believed, then the one who didn’t was the insane one.

It was a scary, and eerily prophetic, definition of reality.

— Jack Chalker, “The Wonderland Gambit”

Perhaps you may prefer eccentric, or off-beat.

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

— Robert Frost, “The Road Not Taken

In any case, as such, Sean and I have been very good friends for quite a while, and after sending him various interesting things I found one too many times, he invited me to just post them straight to the site.

As such, I may drop by from time to time with neat things, and you may notice multiple entries in the same day on occasion.

I am a Discordian, which may be somewhat obvious, and roleplay, watch anime, hack in Linux a bunch, and like a rather eclectic mixture of music. (Including Joni Minstrel, for the curious)

I can easily end up listening to anything from the Talking Heads:

This is “Psycho Killer”, from the start of their “Stop Making Sense” dvd. Amazing video; that empty stage behind them gradually fills during songs until there really is no more room. Well worth a watch.

To straight beautiful, unintelligible, and jaw-breaking Gaelic:

This is sung by the absolutely incredible Karen Matheson; “Chuir m’Athair Mise Dha’n Taigh Charraideach”, or “My Father Sent Me to the House of Sorrow”.

To the the totally bizarre:

This is Tom Lehrer, with “I Got It from Agnes”. He has quite the flair for musical comedy, and most of his songs are worth picking up.

This post was mainly to give you an idea of what to expect. Next time, perhaps I’ll be back with (Eris help us all) a theme…

Posted in Blogs, From Shanoah, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Uncategorized | 2 Comments »