One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Your What the FUCK for 1-3-08

Posted by Sean on January 3, 2008

I used to work at a Las Vegas company called Unicahome. It bills itself as a “lifestyle store”, which is basically a store that sells really expensive furniture. Now, many of the products that Unicahome sells are actually pretty nice.

Then again, they’ve also got a lot of stuff like the “Tea Ship Lamp“.

Tea Ship Lamp by Dietlind Preiss

I’m almost certain I saw something like this in a Terry Gilliam movie. 

It looks like the designer, Dietlind Preiss, is heavily influenced by the Explosion-in-a-Low-End-Antique-Store school of design. Either that, or she’s heavily influenced by psylocibin. Either one works, really. 

By the way, the Unicahome site carries a quote from Preiss. Designers love talking about their designs. They’re kind of like celebrities talking about their movies…  and the results are, predictably, the same:

“Technical perfection is important to me. But not the kind you find encapsulated in nondescript machine housing – no, I mean the technical perfection that produces a riot of scintillating visual excitement.”

Well, throwing up ten pounds of jelly beans produces a “riot of scintillating visual excitement”, too. Produces much the same physiological response, as well. But, unlike Priess, I wouldn’t have the artistic insight to then hang the result up on the ceiling.

Or sell the thing for $2,045.

But then, that’s what makes Priess a designer – and me a guy who makes fun of designers.

You get a lot of designs like this at Unicahome. I’m sure it seemed like a good idea… at the time. But things get a little dicey if you try to sell it to anything besides a storefront art museum. I mean, let’s face it: no matter how daring a decorator you are, the only way you’re going to hang something like this in your home is under the influence of a) heavily-armed men or b) powerful narcotics. (Both of which are in ample supply in Nevada, by the way, which is why Unicahome is still in business…)

Leave a comment