One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Living in Purple

    A bellezza di a natura (C☺rsica)

    JWL5932 Mountain Hare..

    The great escape!

    Relaxed sunrise

    Red-backed Shrike - Lanius collurio

    Pastel Waters

    Black and Gold

    Cap Fréhel

    Southern White-faced Owl D75_5752.jpg

    More Photos

3-10-10 The Jolly Rogers – One for the Road

Posted by Sean on March 10, 2010

Awright! Back to themeless themes and drunken staggers through pop culture! Yay! And what better for a drunken stagger than one for the road?

This is a post that’s a long time in coming. Shanoah tried posting The Jolly Rogers’ One for the Road almost a year ago, but all YouTube had of this song were RenFaire captures in glorious Cell-Phone-O-Vision with thundering 4K audio.

Enter oakleafwolf, to whom I’m eternally grateful. This isn’t nearly the whole song. It goes on for six choruses. That’s a lot of booze.

Sing along! But keep in mind that if you ever did drink everything mentioned in this song in one sitting, you’d be dead. Or a Kennedy.

Full lyrics below the fold, courtesy of the Jolly Rogers here.

The door blew open and Jack blew in
He looked at the barkeep and said with a grin
I must be going I really can’t stay
So pour me a drink and I’ll be on my way
Barkeep said… “What’ll it be?”

I’ll have one whiskey, one porter, one rye
And bring me some cider I’ll give that a try
Bring me two rums, one buttered one cold
And bring me a scotch at least 7 years old

Then bring on the wine I’ll start with the Port
And wash it all down with a beer of some sort
The brandy and sherry some grog and some ale
Some old mountain dew and a good howlin’ gale

Mead, stout, vermouth and gin
Vodka, bourbon, and a sly grin
Moonshine, tequila, cognac and schnapps
Some old sour mash and two belly flops
Goldwasser, ouzo, white lightning, green toad
Absinthe, sombuca, and one for the road!

Jack drank it down and said that was great
But I must be going before it’s too late
Then his friends joined him and said sit back down
If you must be going we’ll buy you a round
Barkeep said… “What’ll it be?”

I’ll have one whiskey, one porter, one rye
And bring me some cider I’ll give that a try
Bring me two rums, one buttered one cold
And bring me a scotch at least 7 years old

Then bring on the wine I’ll start with the Port
And wash it all down with a beer of some sort
The brandy and sherry some grog and some ale
Some old mountain dew and a good howlin’ gale

Mead, stout, vermouth and gin
Vodka, bourbon, and a sly grin
Moonshine, tequila, cognac and schnapps
Some old sour mash and two belly flops
Goldwasser, ouzo, white lightning, green toad
Absinthe, sombuca, and one for the road!

With all his friends passed out on the floor
Still Jack’s bleary eyes were set on the door
The barkeep he said “It’s early you see,
So sit right back on down cause this one’s on me”
So Jack said… “Ut’ll butt he?”

I’ll have one whiskey, one porter, one rye
And bring me some cider I’ll give that a try
Bring me two rums, one buttered one cold
And bring me a scotch at least 7 years old

Then bring on the wine I’ll start with the Port
And wash it all down with a beer of some sort
The brandy and sherry some grog and some ale
Some old mountain dew and a good howlin’ gale

Mead, stout, vermouth and gin
Vodka, bourbon, and a sly grin
Moonshine, tequila, cognac and schnapps
Some old sour mash and two belly flops
Goldwasser, ouzo, white lightning, green toad
Absinthe, sombuca, and one for the road!

Two ladies entered Jack got to his feet
He motioned them over and said have a seat
Both the girls giggled, one gave him a wink
And Jack with a smile said I’ll buy you a drink
Barkeep said… “What’ll it be?”

I’ll have one whiskey, one porter, one rye
And bring me some cider I’ll give that a try
Bring me two rums, one buttered one cold
And bring me a scotch at least 7 years old

Then bring on the wine I’ll start with the Port
And wash it all down with a beer of some sort
The brandy and sherry some grog and some ale
Some old mountain dew and a good howlin’ gale

Mead, stout, vermouth and gin
Vodka, bourbon, and a sly grin
Moonshine, tequila, cognac and schnapps
Some old sour mash and two belly flops
Goldwasser, ouzo, white lightning, green toad
Absinthe, sombuca, and one for the road!

So Jack stood up and said “I must be off”
The barkeep said “Now I don’t mean to scoff
But you’re here nightly and never do go
So what’s say we both have one for the road?”
Barkeep said… “What’ll it be?”

I’ll have one whiskey, one porter, one rye
And bring me some cider I’ll give that a try
Bring me two rums, one buttered one cold
And bring me a scotch at least 7 years old

Then bring on the wine I’ll start with the Port
And wash it all down with a beer of some sort
The brandy and sherry some grog and some ale
Some old mountain dew and a good howlin’ gale

Mead, stout, vermouth and gin
Vodka, bourbon, and a sly grin
Moonshine, tequila, cognac and schnapps
Some old sour mash and two belly flops
Goldwasser, ouzo, white lightning, green toad
Absinthe, sombuca, and one for the road!

Barkeep said… “FASTER!”

I’ll have one whiskey, one porter, one rye
And bring me some cider I’ll give that a try
Bring me two rums, one buttered one cold
And bring me a scotch at least 7 years old

Then bring on the wine I’ll start with the Port
And wash it all down with a beer of some sort
The brandy and sherry some grog and some ale
Some old mountain dew and a good howlin’ gale

Mead, stout, vermouth and gin
Vodka, bourbon, and a sly grin
Moonshine, tequila, cognac and schnapps
Some old sour mash and two belly flops
Goldwasser, ouzo, white lightning, green toad
Absinthe, sombuca, and one for the road!

One Response to “3-10-10 The Jolly Rogers – One for the Road”

  1. […] 3-10-10 The Jolly Rogers – One for the Road […]

Leave a Reply

 
