One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Lilac Daisies

    Muddy Reflections

    The end

    Edge of the Sun

    Mother's Day Flower - symbolism in its simplicity

    Rückkehr

    the path we used to walk

    surge

    [Chinoiserie]

    JWL0043 Eagle..

    More Photos

2-12-10 Brian Eno and David Byrne – Home

Posted by Sean on February 13, 2010

That’s easily one of the best music videos that I’ve seen in a while, Shanoah.

This is Home, also off 2008’s Everything That Happens Will Happen Today, and I have to admit that I don’t know what to think about it.

The lyrics are nice, but I read them and they don’t make sense. I don’t know how to explain it, except that they don’t add up to anything. It was like David Byrne just wrote down some cool-sounding phrases – each evocative and moving in and of themselves, but disjointed in aggregate.

I honestly started to wonder if Byrne hadn’t reverted, at least for this song, to his white-shoulder-padded-nine-sizes-too-large-suited Dada days in Talking Heads. What saves Home is the sobbing, soul-tearing emotion that he puts into every note of his singing, expressed so powerfully that I got teary-eyed listening to it. The words may not mean anything to me but, damn it, they mean something to him.

‘Course, if you were expecting Everything That Happens to be like the experimental bleeps and bloops of 1981’s My Life in the Bush of Ghosts (like me), you’d be disappointed. As Brian Eno writes at Byrne’s site:

Upon starting this project, we quickly realized we were making something like electronic gospel, music in which singing becomes the central event, but whose sonic landscapes are atypical of such vocal-centered tracks. This notion tapped into my long love affair with gospel music, which, curiously, was inadvertently initiated by David and the Talking Heads.

“Surrender to His Will,” by Reverend Maceo Woods and The Christian Tabernacle Choir, was the first gospel song I ever really responded to. I heard it on a distant South American radio station whilst in Compass Point, Nassau, working with Talking Heads on the album More Songs about Buildings and Food. Spending time with them, and becoming aware of their musical interests, opened my ears to genres and styles I hadn’t really noticed up to that point, including gospel. So, it’s fitting that the circle should close with this record.

As a foreigner in New York — where I ended up shortly after recording More Songs — I was surprised by how little attention Americans gave to their own great indigenous music. It was even slightly uncool, as though the endorsement of gospel necessarily implied support of its associated religious framework. Thanks to Reverend Woods however, I began to see gospel music as conveying the act of surrender more than the act of worship; and this, of course, intrigued me, and has informed my music ever since. Perhaps it’s the reason I use modes and chords that are easy to follow and harmonize with. I want music to be inviting, to offer the listener a place inside it. I think David responded to this with sensitivity and skill, and his natural edginess made those familiar progressions sound new to me once again. (Emphasis mine)

My Life in the Bush of Ghosts was 29 years ago. People change. Get used to it.

Or maybe I’m just reading too much into Home. English majors tend to do that.  Like my psychiatrist sez [1], “Stare at anything long enough and it starts to look like shit.”

Point is, I like it.

Courtesy of kaladj.

Lyrics after the “Read the rest of this entry” link, courtesy of Byrne’s site.

[1] Yes, I go to a psychiatrist. Surprised? No? Didn’t think so.

The dimming of the light makes the picture clearer
It’s just an old photograph
There’s nothing to hide
when the world was just beginning

I memorized a face so it’s not forgotten
I hear the wind whistlin’
Come back anytime
And we’ll mix our lives together
Heaven knows- what keeps mankind alive
Ev’ry hand- goes searching for its partner
In crime- under chairs and behind tables
Connecting- to places we have known

(I’m looking for a)
Home- where the wheels are turning
Home- why I keep returning
Home- where my world is breaking in two

Home- with the neighbors fighting
Home- always so exciting
Home- were my parents telling the truth?

Home- such a funny feeling
Home- no-one ever speaking
Home- with our bodies touching
Home- and the cam’ras watching
Home- will infect what ever you do
We’re Home- comes to life from outa the blue

Tiny little boats on a beach at sunset
I took a drink from a jar
& into my head
familiar smells and flavors

Vehicles are stuck on the plains of heaven
I see their wheels spinning round
& ev’rywhere
I can hear those people saying

That the eye- is the measure of the man
You can fly- from the stuff that still surrounds you
We’re home- and the band keeps marchin’ on
Connecting- to ev’ry living soul
Compassion- for things I’ll never know

2 Responses to “2-12-10 Brian Eno and David Byrne – Home”

  1. […] 2-12-10 Brian Eno and David Byrne – Home […]

  2. kingbiscuitpants said

    great song thanks for turning me onto it

Leave a Reply

 
