One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Lilac Daisies

    Muddy Reflections

    The end

    Edge of the Sun

    Mother's Day Flower - symbolism in its simplicity

    Rückkehr

    the path we used to walk

    surge

    [Chinoiserie]

    JWL0043 Eagle..

    More Photos

Who Knows Where the Hiring Fair In the Lowlands of Holland Goes?

Posted by shanoah on November 21, 2009

Haven’t posted in a while. I’ll try to keep posting here every so often, but I doubt there’ll be any regularity to it any more. I’d rather keep posting erratically then stop posting all together, though.

So, theme today is stuff I’ve listened to recently. It usually is, actually. I’m just being a little more blatant about it right now.

First, I’ve played Who Knows Where the Time Goes being sung by Kate Wolf here before, and I tend to think of it as a Kate Wolf song, but this is Fairport Convention playing it. And, you know, the lead singer, Sandy Denny, wrote the song, so it’s actually their song.

Just a matter of where I heard it first, really. They both died way too young, and were great folk singers. Though, if you listen to Led Zeppelin‘s Battle of Evermore carefully, it’s actually Sandy Denny singing with Robert Plant, which is cool.

I’ve also been listening to Steeleye Span playing The Lowlands of Holland for some reason. It’s a great folk song that’s been covered by everyone and their mother, really. Note that the singer here is not Maddy Prior, but Gay Woods. This was actually off of Steeleye Spans first album, and she left the band before the next album.

This is sort of tangentially related to the last song, in that Steeleye Span was founded by a former member of Fairport Convention.

And when I say this songs been played by everyone, I mean it. Here is Dún an Doras playing it.

And here’s Celia from Salmon’s Leap singing it.

And lets round things off with Fairport Convention and the song The Hiring Fair.

My trembling fingers touched her arm, and she placed them on her breast.”

Part of me thinks it’s romantic. And part of me is thinking “Damn, he’s getting lucky tonight”. ^_^

Leave a Reply

 
