One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Hood Ornament

    Merle running

    Happy Birthday Diane! Bonne fête ma belle Diane!

    Sentinels

    summer songs

    Papilio Machaon...

    Pole Position

    The Padarn Tree

    Scarlet Tanager

    Darth Vader's Catwalk

    More Photos

Laddie, Are Ye Working?

Posted by shanoah on August 20, 2009

Now that I’ve got yesterdays post out, time for my real post for today.

I’m going to detour from Culture Club because I noticed there are a lot more Heather Alexander songs on youtube then there used to be, and there are several I’ve been wanting to play.

This song is from an album of hers called Insh’allah: The Music of Lion’s Blood. As you might gather from the title, it’s a album written as music to a book by Steven Brust Barnes, Lions Blood.

That’s where it gets a bit complex, because that book is an alternate history novel about a world where Europe is mostly underdeveloped nations, and  Islam is the major world power.

And America is where a bunch of black plantation owners live, and like the plantation owners used to in our reality, they have slaves working the fields that they had slave traders capture from less developed parts of the world. In this case, Ireland.

Never read the book, so I could have mucked up parts of that summary, but that’s part of why I think this song is so cool. It’s exactly the type of song slaves working on a plantation would sing, but its distinctly Irish.

It’s subversive, too. Pay close attention to the last verse, as it changes, and underscores what the song is really about.

3 Responses to “Laddie, Are Ye Working?”

  1. Miramon said

    Lion’s Blood is by Barnes, not Brust. I was all excited for a minute thinking I had somehow missed one of Brust’s books.

  2. shanoah said

    Sorry about that. I was typing the author name from memory, and I had To Reign In Hell in the back of my mind…

  3. […] Mastodon – Circle of Cysquatch9-17-08 Animosity & Drumcorps – Thin Retro God and Altered BeastLaddie, Are Ye Working?Mr. Man5-29-08 How To Build A Prop GunHow To Build A Time Machine1-29-09 Archie Campbell turders the […]

Leave a Reply

 
