One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Lilac Daisies

    Muddy Reflections

    The end

    Edge of the Sun

    Mother's Day Flower - symbolism in its simplicity

    Rückkehr

    the path we used to walk

    surge

    [Chinoiserie]

    JWL0043 Eagle..

    More Photos

I Started a Joke

Posted by shanoah on July 2, 2009

What’s this I see? It’s Sean! I guess both of us were in a funk, just for different definitions of funk… 🙂

Though I’ll admit doing the blog solo for a bit was interesting, it’s more fun when we’re b0th here to bounce things off of each other. Even if it is more challenging.

Note to self: Sean apparently summoned by playing disco. Must experiment more with this in the future.

So, what to play after the Ramones…

Well, I was already thinking about playing this song sometime soon. It’s Robin Gibbs singing with the rest of the Bee Gees backing him.

This is one of these videos that is absolutely perfect in black and white. Color would have totally detracted from it. Robin’s voice is amazing here, the lyrics are interesting, and it all just comes together really well.

The song is I Started a Joke. As you can tell, it’s very up to interpretation, which is another part of why I like it. Besides, it’s a beautiful song, with a great delivery.

And I feel like posting the lyrics wholesale in this case:

I started a joke which started the whole world crying,
But I didn’t see that the joke was on me, oh, no.

I started to cry which started the whole world laughing;
Oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was on me.

I looked at the skies, running my hands over my eyes;
And I fell out of bed, hurting my head from things that I said.

Till I finally died which started the whole world living,
Oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was on me.

I looked at the skies, running my hands over my eyes;
And I fell out of bed, hurting my head from things that I said.

Till I finally died which started the whole world living
Oh, if I’d only seen that the joke was on me, oh no,
That the joke was on me.

One Response to “I Started a Joke”

  1. […] I Started a Joke […]

Leave a Reply

 
