One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

7-2-09 Killing Joke – The Death and Resurrection Show

Posted by Sean on July 2, 2009

Great, just what I need. A Summon Sean spell with The Bee Gee’s Greatest Hits as a material component. Just effen great.

Actually, I do see a theme developing. You post some disco, and then I post the antidote to the disco. Arms dealers do it all the time – sell the measure and the countermeasure in the same catalog. Capitalism!

Anyway, since you started a joke, I’ll finish the audience off with a killing joke. This is The Death and Resurrection Show, off Killing Joke’s 2003 self-titled album, and the lyrics are… wow. All that and power chords, too. How can you go wrong?

You know, it’s funny how George Lucas and Killing Joke can read Joseph Campbell’s Hero With a Thousand Faces and come up with completely different interpretations. Personally, I think Killing Joke is closer to the truth than Lucas ever will be.

Courtesy of screaminglog.

To top things off, I think I’ll post the lyrics here, courtesy of LyricWiki… and probably for many of the same reasons you posted the lyrics to I Started a Joke, Shanoah.

Mark out the points
Build the pyre
Assemble different drummers
Light up the fire
Put on your masks
And animal skins
Illumination, illumination
Listen to the drums
Between each beat, each beat of the drum

O beloved Mother of Liberty
Hold me in your arms

Burn burn, burn brightly
Burn burn, burn white heat

And the day will come
Before the lights go out
Who will you turn to
Who will you turn to
Choose the crucifixion
Or Osiris slain
Recurring themes, time again

Illumination, illumination
Burn burn, burn white heat

Oh how ingenious the centuries of lies
Ezekiel’s chariots streak across the skies
Holy books and history texts forget
Because we know
Souls are recycled in the death and
Resurrection show

O beloved Mother of Liberty
Come to me

Everything I’m taught, amounts to nought
Everything I learn, the fire shall burn
Notions of myself that when I’m not
Whoever I was is now lost
Illumination, illumination

Burn burn, burn brightly
Burn burn, burn white heat

Oh how ingenious the centuries of lies
Ezekiel’s chariots streak across the skies
Holy books and history texts
Forget because we know
Souls are recycled in
The death and resurrection show

O beloved Women of Liberty
Hold me in your arms

3 Responses to “7-2-09 Killing Joke – The Death and Resurrection Show”

  1. […] 7-2-09 Killing Joke – The Death and Resurrection Show […]

  2. […] 7-2-09 Killing Joke – The Death and Resurrection Show […]

  3. Brilliant song and album…and band!

Leave a Reply

 
