One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Ridiculous

    Color explosion

    JWL8376  Cuckoo..

    Desert River Clouds

    Dragonfly

    Chrysis duo

    Smoky Mountain Blaze

    Out and up.......

    apricot jam _ week 25/52

    Peaceful

    More Photos

1-22-09 J-Dilla – Nothing Like This

Posted by Sean on January 22, 2009

Shanoah, I don’t even want to think about Bush right now. Just the thought of that waste of oxygen and his apologists and enablers – not to mention the fact that they’re as arrogant and unapologetic as ever, even fired up, after being resoundingly denounced at the polls – makes me nauseous. They make me want to fall into one of those temporal distortion thingies that people kept running into during the Rick Berman years on Star Trek and find myself in an alternate timeline where Al Gore won the 2000 election. Granted, not much would be different: The bombers that we used to level Baghdad would’ve run on fry oil and endangered whale farts instead of jet fuel, and that’s about it. Still, you get my point.

So no more W, okay? Just give my pissed-off samurai Obama [1] and leave me alone.

Anyway, there is a slim chance that we’ll be playing host to some listeners from Billy Jam’s Put the Needle on the Record from WFMU, so I think I ought to put out something nice for our guests. This is Adult Swim’s video for J-Dilla’s Nothing Like this, off 2006’s Chrome Children, from Adult Swim and Stones Throw Records, and 2007’s Ruff Draft. Video directed by Daniel Garcia & Mixtape Club. If memory serves, I first heard this almost 2 years and 1 job ago on Billy Jam’s March 30, 2007 graffiti show.

Thanks to Andrew Leonard’s How the World Works as Salon.com for Obama-san.

[1] Which is THE nightmare of the Obama jihad conspiracy set.

One Response to “1-22-09 J-Dilla – Nothing Like This”

  1. […] 1-22-09 J-Dilla – Nothing Like This […]

Leave a Reply

 
