One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

MLK

Posted by shanoah on January 19, 2009

Ah. That is a silly thing. Unfortunately, given the holiday, today is not my day for silly…

In just about any big city, you will find a ghetto. A place with a population typically predominantly black, but at the very least, predominently governed by ethnic groups. Las Vegas has such places. Get on the strip bus going north. Watch the people around you till the average skin color is black[1], then get off, and you will be in northtown.

And in just about every big city in America, when you go to such places, you will find a street named “Martin Luther King”. A street named after a great man with a great vision. And it is his day today.

I Have a Dream Speech – (abbreviated; set to music by Mercury Feelings)

And he was an amazing speaker. And tomorrow, we’ll have another man with a vision of change making his own speech accepting his place as President. Let us hope he doesn’t share the fate of Martin Luther King…

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.”

I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.

I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a state sweltering with the heat of injustice, sweltering with the heat of oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice.

I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

[1] If you don’t believe me, try it. This paragraph is written with the experience of having ridden the strip bus many times and noticing the overall change around me. I can only presume that this still means that black people aren’t getting opportunities to get out of the ghetto as much as they should, or that inertia is playing a major role.

Leave a Reply

 
