One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

1-19-09 Louis Armstrong – I’ll Be Glad When You’re Dead, You Rascal You

Posted by Sean on January 19, 2009

Sorry, Shanoah. I know this is Martin Luther King Day, and I know Rev. King made it a point to keep things cool and non-violent during the civil rights movement.

But I ain’t feeling cool and non-violent today. In fact, I’m feeling positively wrathful.

Why? Because this is the last day that that original waste of oxygen, George W. Bush, will be in office. Lessee here… he’s gotten us entangled in not one but two foreign wars, one of which (Iraq) was unquestionably illegal and unethical, no matter what good comes from it, and which caused the deaths of tens of thousands, possibly hundreds of thousands, of innocent and unarmed civilians; the federal deficit has exploded, rendering the federal government essentially bankrupt; my civil rights have been shreded; government has intruded into my life like never before; the economy has tanked on Bush’s watch; we’ve alienated most of the world and helped, unwittingly, to foster the spread of tyranny and the worst kinds of religious fundamentalism throughout the world… Did I miss anything?

Yeah, I think we can all agree that the last eight years have been pretty shitty.

So, I’m sorry, Rev. King, but the only thing that I can think to do today, the final day of an eight-year nightmare, is to bid Bush and Cheney goodbye with the help of Louis Armstrong and I’ll Be Glad When You’re Dead, You Rascal You.

(Note: I originally wanted to put up the Betty Boop cartoon, but it had Fleischer Studios’ usual un-PC depictions of blacks, and that just seemed inappropriate for Martin Luther King Day)

Courtesy of Falkis1984.

Leave a Reply

 
