One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Free Things For Poor People

Posted by shanoah on January 15, 2009

In continuing with the theme of your last post… Actually, I’m not totally sure on the theme of your last post[1]. In continuing with the theme of not following themes, here is a song by infidels[2] :

Free Things For Poor People – Infidels

Certainly an interesting band. They’d been sharing a house in London, and it ended disasterously. They decided as a form of therapy that they’d all get together in one place last time. Their plan was to record a song together, self-produce about 500 copies, and then all go their separate ways.

They did, and a few weeks later, they found out that all 500 copies had sold, they were being supported on Radio 1 by John Peel, and they were in the running for Best Electronic Act at the Diesel-U-Music awards.

At that point, they decided to get back together, and actually record more then one song. Their website, incidentally, is www.infadels.co.uk, and has most of this information, as well as youtube videos of their songs, music downloads, and such. Goodies, essentially.

They claim this songs is about a guy who goes back in time to the 30’s. He goes by the river and gets seduced by sexy women. Hasn’t that happened to everyone? All right, perhaps not, but we can wish. The men in the video are the band; all the sexy women were hired for the video.

Of course, I grabbed it because the title “Free Things For Poor People” appeals to me. And silly me, I was trying to read a murder ballad into it. Of course, I also think it sounds like a hymn about having sex with beautiful women, which I am all in favor of…

[1] Though it was pretty cool…

[2] Heretics, I say! Heretics! Oh, that’s their band name?

One Response to “Free Things For Poor People”

  1. […] Free Things For Poor People […]

Leave a Reply

 
