One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

12-21-08 Joyous Winter Solstice

Posted by Sean on December 21, 2008

Today is the Winter Solstice, the shortest day of the year. This may seem an odd way to put it but – astronomically, cosmologically, spiritually, magically and psychologically – it doesn’t get any worse than this. In a sense, the Earth has hit rock bottom, and there’s nowhere to go but up from here. So relax. You made it this far. Gather those you love and care around you, count your dead, cherish those who survived to see another solstice, and wait out the long night with song and flame.

I spent what day I had with my parents cleaning up the house. They did it because my brother and sister are coming in from out of town for Christmas. I did it to start off my new year, and the lengthening days, on the right foot. There’s something that’s psychologically very powerful about simply putting your house in order.

I’ve got some music that I think is fairly appropriate for the solstice and for you, as you observe the shortest day and longest night of the year, contemplate the cycle that brought us here and celebrate the year to come. It isn’t “traditional” pagan music, but that’s the point. The music changes, but the reason for the season stays the same.

Lying in the Sun – Koushik

Heard on Ken‘s show on WFMU on Dec. 10.

Courtesy of stonesthrowradio.

The Sun – Mr. Lif

Heard on Billy Jam’s Put the Needle on the Record show on WFMU on Dec. 12.

Courtesy of tuckdragon.

Sing the Changes – The Fireman

Thanks for this one, Shanoah.

Courtesy of thefiremanmusic.

The Rising – Bruce Springsteen (Live in Barcelona 2003)

An odd choice, I know, especially for a pagan celebration. But when you consider that the Sun is enduring much of the same things as the narrator of the song, it suddenly becomes appropriate.

Courtesy of smiddy53.

The Rising is too Christian for a pagan holiday, you say? Silly boy. Many paths, one destination and all that. Read your Joseph Campbell some time.

Oh, all right, I’ll throw in something Ren Fest-y. Must have some vanilla on hand for those who don’t like pistachio, after all. This’ll be a good soundtrack for awakening Mother Earth during the post-circle Bacchanal, if ya know what I mean, wink wink nudge nudge.

Bacchus – Corvus Corax

Courtesy of Kessi1958.

2 Responses to “12-21-08 Joyous Winter Solstice”

  1. […] 12-21-08 Joyous Winter Solstice […]

  2. […] We Are Login  Justified and AncientNow that the solstice has ended, I do still have a few Christmas songs I want to play, but I think I can get away with […]

Leave a Reply

 
