One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Penguins and Poppins

Posted by shanoah on December 12, 2008

Well, yes, Sean, but I didn’t really care for the music videos of newer Madonna songs. But she looks good in them, or would if she took off the hat I mentioned. And that one was well done, IMO.

So, the topic is penguins, now? And, unless I’m mistaken, besed on the white stripe on it’s head, that’s a Gentoo penguin, the one the version of Linux I’m running is named after. But personally, that makes me think of one particular scene from the movie Mary Poppins. So I thought I’d play it. And for fun, let’s play it in German.

So ein schöner Ferientag (Jolly Holiday)

Hmmm, everything leads back to Julie Andrews, doesn’t it? I’ll admit to being fond of Mary Poppins, but isn’t everyone? Harry Wüstenhagen & Monika Dahlberg seem to be doing a pretty good jub singing the parts, here. And the thing with German is that you can almost understand parts because of cognate words. Love Dick Van Dyke’s dance with the penguins.

Supercalifragilisticexpialigetisch

Now this one’s interesting in that they are singing about a made up word in a language, you (or at least I) can’t understand. And note how the word Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious changes. It’s a totally made up word, but changes somewhat to be a more Germanic version. Must have given the translators headaches.

Schwester Suffragette (Sister Suffragette)

I’ve always loved this song, and how it illustrated the two entirely different worlds Mr. & Mrs. Banks live in. And, of course, it helps that it’s a cause I’m in favor of. This song seems to lose none of its fire being sung in German by Käthe Jaenicke, Inge Landgut, & Erna Haffne. And again, the cognate words are such that you can almost make out parts.

One Response to “Penguins and Poppins”

  1. […] Penguins and Poppins […]

Leave a Reply

 
