One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Police Magic

Posted by shanoah on December 6, 2008

Well, you know Sean, it’s kind of hard for me to pull out a good J-Pop song, simply because I’ve played a lot of my favorites here already. But, well, Tenchi Muyo always has good music (note that I do not include Tenchi in Tokyo as part of Tenchi Muyo), so I’ll go with an obscure song from there.

Taihou wa kaze makase (Leave the arrest to the wind) ~ POLICE MAGIC
Lyrics by Natsuko Kodou; Vocals by Yuko Mizutani

If you’re at all familiar with Tenchi Muyo, you know what a major flake Mihoshi is. This song is from her perspective, and is perfectly in character. Here is Theresa Martins translation, pulled from this page. Keep in mind that this is more of a direct translation then a singable one. And there is at least one spot here that is parodying another song, which somewhat gets lost on me.  (Note that the voiceovers in this video are not included in the translation)

Where did you go? Wait a minute, Mr. Criminal.
If you hide, I can’t arrest you.

Oh dear, because of my missiles that missed,
the whole city is full of holes, isn’t it.
The moon has waned,
I wonder if it’s also because I shot it.

It’s a POLICE MAGIC!
If you wanna see me,
You can whistle whenever you want!

A written apology, good heavens!
Write it with me?

What kind of crime did you commit?
‘Cause I really don’t know very well, but…

It’s okay. The crime is not major or minor
not pine nor bamboo nor plum
[not worst nor worse nor bad].
I’ll also chase
the cat with the fish in its mouth.

It’s a POLICE MAGIC!
If you gonna need me,
You can whistle whenever you want!

What, oh dear, I can’t stop.
I’ve been overtaken. Wait up!

Well, well, a screw in a place like this.
One came off, oh dear.
Although I am on the job
for the sake of interstellar peace…

O.K. POLICE MAGIC!
If you wanna see me…

I’ve lost sight of him.
I’ll leave it to the wind, to search him out.
A wind in space… is there any such thing?…

POLICE MAGIC!
If you wanna see me,
You can whistle whenever you want!

If you leave it to me,
I’ll resolve it soon! All right!

One Response to “Police Magic”

  1. […] Police Magic […]

Leave a Reply

 
