One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

12-2-08 Schoolhouse Rock – Lolly Lolly Lolly Get Your Adverbs Here

Posted by Sean on December 2, 2008

Well, I don’t know how to follow up on Free, Shanoah. So I’m not going to.

I’m driving home from work today, and I get behind a guy who got a license plate of LALLY1. And what instantly starts going through my head?

“Lolly Lolly Lolly get your adverbs here…”

I swear, Schoolhouse Rock has been encoded in my very genome (not that this is a bad thing). I blame whoever wrote them. I don’t know how people can come up with such catchy songs for such dull subjects as adverbs and how a bill becomes a law… and then KEEP doing it, three or four times each Saturday morning, it seems.

In honor of my mid-commute brain fart, I offer today Schoolhouse Rock‘s “Lolly Lolly Lolly Get Your Adverbs Here”, which first aired in 1974. Lyrics here, couresy of Schoolhouse Rock Lyrics… unless you’re a Gen-Xer, in which case the lyrics are permanently imprinted in your engram and you ain’t never ever ever gettin’ ’em out.

(And yes, I know Schoolhouse Rock is a bit of a letdown from Stevie Wonder. But that’s how my mind works)

Courtesy of cartoonsongs.

One Response to “12-2-08 Schoolhouse Rock – Lolly Lolly Lolly Get Your Adverbs Here”

  1. […] 12-2-08 Schoolhouse Rock – Lolly Lolly Lolly Get Your Adverbs Here […]

Leave a Reply

«
 
