One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Heather Dale

Posted by shanoah on November 15, 2008

Ah, there you are, Sean. Temporal travelling, I see. And, yes, the victorian era had a lot more style. Clockwork and steam were that much more elegant then some of the more modern mad science. But I’m going to go more Arthurian for the moment.

Today, I’ll post something that I swear I honestly thought one of us had already posted. But if we did, a search didn’t pull it up, so it’s time for some of the amazing music of Heather Dale:

Mordred’s Lullaby

Anyone into Arthurian legend already knows what this one is about. Anyone into Arthurian legend has probably already heard this song, and thinks it rocks.

Being Arthurian lagend, the theme varies a bit, but Mordred was either Morgan le Fay or Morgause’s son, with King Arthur. In either case it’s incest; they’re both his sisters. Sometimes it was an accident, sometimes it was rape; all depends who’s version you are going by.

In either case he is raised basically to be Arthurs downfall, and this song is intended to be a lullaby he is sung by his mother, showing what a twisted upbringing he gets. I love it.

All the pictures, naturally, are various depictions of Mordred.

Exile

Again, Heather Dale has an amazing voice, and I really enjoy listening to her. Interesting undertones on this song, too. Though, I’m not sure sure that Narato was the best choice of images.

Kingsword

And here is another Arthurian song. The kingsword, obviously, is Excalibur, either pulled out of the stone by Arthur, or given to him by the Lady of the Lake[1]. And, or course, if you go with pagan tradition, he betrayed the oaths he gave to get the sword by spreading Christianity across the land.

If you read 1000+ page books like “Mists of Avalon”, by Marion Zimmer Bradley, anyways. I once read that book in a night; but I haven’t managed to get back to reading it in years. I don’t have the kind of time it takes any more…

[1] IOW, “Strange women in ponds distributing swords is no basis for a form of government!”

One Response to “Heather Dale”

  1. […] Heather Dale […]

Leave a Reply

 
