One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Tokyo

    Moke Lake

    Lower Kentucky Falls (Mapleton, OR)

    Glorious Morning

    Three of a kind

    Peace, quiet and tranquility

    Stag Beetle

    In het gras/Into the grass

    Detached.



    More Photos

11-13-08 Dave Fleischman’s Superman

Posted by Sean on November 13, 2008

But ShanoahI gotta use kitty as perpetual-motion-or-at-least-cuteness power device. I’m a little strapped for cash after Superman busted into my fly mountain observatory hideout and wrecked my Electrothanasia Ray. And just because I was going to rain total destruction on those who laughed at me and failed to heed my warnings… damn Boy Scout [1].

Maybe I can get some venture capital the mad scientist way: build an army of robots and knock over a bank! Sure, I could run a stock brokerage, let it take a bath investing in subprime mortgages and then rake in some mad federal bailout jack, but that doesn’t have any style, y’know?

Besides, Superman will never expect an army of giant robots!

Shit.

This, of course, is Fleischman Studio’s Superman, a series of 17 shorts made between 1941 and 1943. The first is The Mad Scientist [2] and the second is The Mechanical Monsters. They were produced by Max Fleischman and directed by his brother Dave, and I love ’em.

My brother isn’t in love with them, though. He says he hates this style of animation. I agree; it can get a little too Fountainhead-y for me at times. But keep in mind, it was all hand-drawn and done way before CGI. It’s some of the best hand-drawn animation out there, and you gotta give it kudos for that.

Courtesy of Kenro199x.

[1] Oh, and I want that vulture. He looks like he’s totally into the raining-destruction-on-those-fools-who-laughed-LAUGHED-at-me thing.

[2] And, yes, I’m a mad scientist, Shanoah. That’s what comes from hanging out with you.

2 Responses to “11-13-08 Dave Fleischman’s Superman”

  1. […] 11-13-08 Dave Fleischman’s Superman […]

  2. […] the one hand, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer can’t hold a candle to the Superman shorts of the 1940s, which were Fleischer Stduio’s highwater mark, or even the more […]

Leave a Reply

 
