One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

The World

Posted by shanoah on November 5, 2008

Well, unlike Sean, I’m actually writing this post after all the sound and fury is over, so I actually know who won. Surprisingly enough, it was actually the person I voted for, which rarely happens.

But don’t think of yourself as helping Obama into office, Sean; think of yourself as helping McCain to concede. Clark county had a decent majority voting for Obama, too.

Obamas campaign was very much about empowering the people, and he is a very good speaker. The transcript of his acceptance speech is worth a look:

It’s the answer spoken by young and old, rich and poor, Democrat and Republican, black, white, Hispanic, Asian, Native American, gay, straight, disabled and not disabled. Americans who sent a message to the world that we have never been just a collection of individuals or a collection of red states and blue states.

We are, and always will be, the United States of America.

It’s the answer that led those who’ve been told for so long by so many to be cynical and fearful and doubtful about what we can achieve to put their hands on the arc of history and bend it once more toward the hope of a better day.

As I said, a very good speaker. But it’s time for some music:

People Got To Be Free – Young Rascals

This was the first song that popped in my head on the way home from work, and it’s a good one, and I feel it fits the current mood.

People Have The Power – The Patti Smith Group

“The people have the power to redeem the work of fools.”

Lord, I hope so. This just seems so appropriate I had to play it. Not only is it an important message, the song kicks ass.

Waiting on the World To Change – John Mayer

And here’s where I think we all are right now. The decision is made, the die is cast, and we’ve all made our play. What happens next is life.

One Response to “The World”

  1. […] The World […]

Leave a Reply

 
