One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

TV

Posted by shanoah on October 29, 2008

You know, Sean, I didn’t really intend my last post to be a tribute to Obama, per say. I just thought it tied in well. I did, however, come up with a video that not only continued the American theme, but also could go with either candidate, depending on how sarcastic I was feeling:

Greatest American Hero Theme

You know, I always liked this theme song. It’s probably the association with freedom and the air again. It just makes me feel good.

Believe it or not, I’m walking on air.
I never thought I could feel so free.
Flying away on a wing and a prayer.
Who could it be?
Believe it or not it’s just me.

Of course, you then posted again and changed themes. I, however, had already picked a video for my next post, and decided to stay with it.

I then thought I’d be nice to continue on the theme of tv show openings, which is how I ended up with this video. In German, none the less.

Die Fraggles!

Ah, Fraggle Rock. The opening was already cool, and I just think the German accentuates it. Plus, the phrase “Die Fraggles” amuses me.

So I was hunting around for a third theme. And found a clip that was not a theme tune, but I really wanted to play…

The Avengers intro clip

Let’s just say, I enjoyed this enough that I didn’t care that it wasn’t a tv theme. Ignore the “Celebs in Leather” ads. After all, once you’ve seen Diana Riggs in leather, why would you want anyone else, anyways?

One Response to “TV”

  1. […] last, I thought it appropriate to play John Lennon’s Working Class Hero. We play a lot of songs about heros here, don’t we, Sean? Hadn’t noticed that. Surprised Joni Minstrel […]

Leave a Reply

 
