One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Archive for October 12th, 2008

10-12-08 Stormwarrior – Heroic Deathe

Posted by Sean on October 12, 2008

He’s browsing reality’s infinite palette. He’s seen yours and yours doesn’t cut it.” That’s me in a nutshell, Shanoah.

Anyway, the Ren Faire ended today. And could there be any better way to memorialize the end of the Renaissance Faire than with a VIKING FUNERAL!

Actually, yes, because the only body of water big enough for that is Lake Mead, and if we put a flaming dragonship on that, we’ll probably set the whole damn lake on fire. (Not the purest water in the world, if you get my drift) So we’ll have to content ourselves with comemmorating the Badlye Misspellede Ren Faire’s Badlye Misspellede Heroic Deathe with, coincidentally enough, Stormwarrior’s Heroic Deathe, off 2004’s Northern Rage. And, yes, you’ve heard these guys wielding the hammer of the metal gods on this channel before.

Courtesy of NiCruzk0.

Posted in From Sean, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , , , , | 1 Comment »

Rich Fantasy Lives

Posted by shanoah on October 12, 2008

Dragons? How are dragons medieval, anyways? To my knowledge, there weren’t any dragons during the Renaissance. Or any other time period, to my knowledge.

Not that that would have stopped me from following your post up with Heather Alexanders “Rock n’ Gold” if it was on youtube.

Tom Smith will have to do:

This is Rob Balder, Tom Smith & Will Frank performing Rob & Tom’s “Rich Fantasy Lives” at OVFF’s Pegasus Nominees Concert with Judi Miller signing on Friday, Oct 26, 2007.

This song hits the heart of what drives the Rennaisance Fair, to me, though.

Posted in Blogs, From Shanoah, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , | 1 Comment »

10-11-08 DragonForce – Where Dragons Rule

Posted by Sean on October 12, 2008

We continue our celebration of the Badlye Misspellede Renaissance Faire today, as it’s here in Las Vegas until Sunday, and its homage to medievalishness. And what could be more medieval than:

  1. Dragons.
  2. Freakin’ rock-and-roll.

Which makes DragonForce’s Where Dragons Rule a natural for your neat thing today. (And yes, you’ve heard these fellows here before)

So come (won’t you?) back with me to those halcyon days when men were men, women were women, people were stupid, life was short, work was back-breaking, food was half-rotten, disease was rampant, medical care was nonexistent, houses were cold, beds were really hard and any random jackass with a sword could kill you dead, rape your wife, burn your home and sell your kids into slavery.

Perhaps I’m missing the point…

Courtesy of Sparrowka.

Posted in From Sean, Gettin' Yer Geek Freak On, I Tunes Not U Tunes, Mailing List | Tagged: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment »