One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

10-7-08 John Lennon – Give Me Some Truth

Posted by Sean on October 7, 2008

And it’s still tanking, Shanoah. (Ain’t that terrible? I didn’t tell you what’s tanking, but you still know what I’m talking about. This financial – what, meltdown? clusterfuck? – has gotten so scary and pervasive that it’s gone beyond names, like the godhead)

Anyway, the presidential debates are tonight. And whaddya know, it’s a town meeting format. Any Tom, Dick or Harry can get up and give the candidates a piece of their minds.

Joe Belock played this today on WFMU for precisely this reason, and it’s just so appropriate, given the circumstances: John Lennon’s Give Me Some Truth, off 1971’s Imagine.

And to everyone attending the debates at Belmont University in Nashville, I say: sic ’em.

Courtesy of Noticiasdot.

Lyrics here, courtesy of LyricWiki.

I’m sick to death of seeing things
From tight-lipped, condescending, mama’s little chauvinists
All I want is the truth
Just gimme some truth now

I’ve had enough of watching scenes
Of schizophrenic, ego-centric, paranoiac prima-donnas
All I want is the truth now
Just gimme some truth

No short-haired, yellow-bellied, son of Tricky Dicky
Is gonna Mother Hubbard soft soap me
With just a pocketful of soap
It’s money for dope
Money for rope

Leave a Reply

 
