One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Happiness

Posted by shanoah on October 4, 2008

You know, Sean, I’ve playing depressing or cynical songs most of the week in connection with the bailout. I had a few songs stashed away on the subject of happiness.

Some, unsurprisingly, are rather cynical, but here we go:

Happiness Is A Warm Gun – The Beatles

I’m sure you know by now about my liking for the Beatles. By far and away, my favorite lyric from this song is “Mother Superior jump the gun.”

Most likely because it makes me picture nuns with guns.

Spread A Little Happiness – Sting

This song is being sung by Sting, and this clip is from the end of the movie “Brimstone and Treacle”. I haven’t watched that movie, but him singing this song is supposed to be heavily ironic.

Even without having all the information, I shuddered at the look at the end. And reading a summary of the movie just gives me shivers. Just picture Sting as the devil in this clip, and you won’t be far off.

Happiness Runs – Donovan

You may need to turn up the volume for this one. Unlike the last song, this one genuinely makes me happy. And it’s very catchy.

And, yes, there are metaphysical overtones there.

Happiness runs in a circular motion;
Thought is like a little boat upon the sea.
Everybody is a part of everything anyway;
You can have everything if you let yourself be.
One Response to “Happiness”

  1. […] Happiness […]

Leave a Reply

 
