One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Blind

Posted by shanoah on October 3, 2008

Well, Sean, I wouldn’t count on the new, uglier bailout going through till it happens. Yes, the Senate passed another version of the bailout with uber-tax rebates for rich people on to the House.

And yes, it has bribes for various house members that voted no on the first version. The thing is, it’s got enough extra stuff tacked on it that people who voted yes the first time may vote no on it.

Especially the $120 billion in tax cuts. Of course, IIRC, they’re voting on it today. Hopefully these words won’t be accompanied by that smiling George Bush[1], smiling as the plan to rip off the nation goes through.

In any case, I’m going to continue on my Talking Heads jag. They just seem to represent what I’m thinking really well right now. (And when you’re thinking like David Byrne, you know you’re in trouble.)

Blind – Talking Heads

As usual for the talking heads, the lyrics are important. And seem very relevant these days.

Torn all apart
All in the name of democracy
He’s hurt
He’s dying
Claimed he was a terrorist
Claimed to avert a catastrophe
Someone should’a told him
That the buck stops here
No one ever said
That he was involved with thieves

Money – The Beatles

And what did Bush-appointed Secretary of the Treasury Henry Paulson want again?

I personally liked reading a quote from a Treasury spokeswoman on how they got the figure “$700 billion”:

“It’s not based on any particular data point. We just wanted to choose a really large number.”[2]

Yes, they would, wouldn’t they?

And, you know, Paulson used to be CEO for Goldman Sachs. You know, a competitor of Merrill Lynch and Lehman Bros. Should he even be touching this?

I don’t know; too many things niggling at me on this, and I’m feeling a bit scattered. And some part of me feels a small, twisted satisfaction in watching it all burn, though I probably shouldn’t.

It is a good thing I’d moved almost all my financial investments[3] over to rock solid things that don’t provide much return over the last couple of months, though.

And UPS stock, but they haven’t been hit that bad…

[1] I’ve read too much Bloom Country, all right?

[2] Emphasis mine.

[3] Such as they are. It isn’t much, but it’s been building up for a few years.

One Response to “Blind”

  1. […] Blind […]

Leave a Reply

 
