One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

9-18-08 George Harrison – Wah Wah

Posted by Sean on September 22, 2008

Well, it happened for me, Shanoah. Last night I was lying in bed, and it just hit me: I’m in the second half of my life now. It just hit me, like I’d been perched on a precipice and now AAAAAAAAAAAAAGH I’ve pitched over the edge. Most people have to wait until they’re 40 for that feeling to come over them. Me, I got it over two years early.

It’s not a pleasant feeling – knowing for a fact, for a rock-solid certainty that eternal darkness is closing in on you, and that whatever you want to get done, you have to get it done now. So I dedicate today’s neat thing to that moment of gnosis or just plain middle-aged anxiety with George Harrison’s Wah Wah, off 1970’s All Things Must Past. Perhaps the lyrics are important. Perhaps we should read them here.

This is footage from The Concert for Bangladesh at Madison Square Garden. The concert was held on Aug. 1, 1971 and was organized by Harrison and Ravi Shankar for refugees in East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) created by the 1970 Bhola cyclone and the Bangladesh Liberation War. And yes, that’s Ringo on drums.

Heard on WFMU, perhaps prophetically, on This Is the Modern World with Trouble on Sept. 18.

Courtesy of melsie.

One Response to “9-18-08 George Harrison – Wah Wah”

  1. […] 9-18-08 George Harrison – Wah Wah […]

Leave a Reply

 
