One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Peter Paul & Mary

Posted by shanoah on September 12, 2008

And now for a group that normally gets heard by parents with their children[1]. Which I think is a shame. I feel the world would be a better place if people would occasionally loosen up, kick back, and act like a child.

And not one that is spoiled rotten, or a kindergarten bully, which most people acting like children seem to do, to their detriment.

So lets just let go of our age for a bit, and enjoy…

The Marvelous Toy

This song appeals to the gadget freak in me. I love how they try to outdo each other in silliness. But then, this song would bring that out in you. It was written by Tom Paxton.

And, no, the “one hundred million dollars” part at the end isn’t normally there. I believe this clip was from the grand opening of an opera house or some such, and it was a reference to that.

Jane Jane

A lovely portmanteau of songs, this clip is just beautiful. After listening to it several times in a row, I decided it had to go in…

Puff The Magic Dragon

I’m sure you’ve all heard this one before. And by the intro, you can tell they’ve had a few too many people claim it is about drugs…

A’ Soalin’

Yes, I’ve aware this is more of a Christmas tune. Still, it’s a haunting melody. And I’ve always thought there was something fundamentally screwy with the idea of setting aside one day to give each other gifts, and be nice to each other.

Shouldn’t we be doing that every day?

But then, Douglas Adams books have been a big influence on my life:

And then, one Thursday, nearly two thousand years after one man had been nailed to a tree for saying how great it would be to be nice to people for a change…

[1] And the fact that I am posting this right after posting songs by Black Sabbath is something I quite enjoy.

One Response to “Peter Paul & Mary”

  1. […] Peter Paul & Mary […]

Leave a Reply

 
