One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

War Pigs

Posted by shanoah on September 11, 2008

Well, as the straight and clean, if crazy, member of the blog, time to play something clean and decent and wholesome and.. eh, screw it, I’m going to play some Black Sabbath.

Ever since that cool Empty Walls video, I’ve had this song on my mind for some reason, so I may as well play it:

War Pigs (uploaded by BIackSabbath)

Actually, thinking about it, I suspect the recent uproar about Obama’s “pig wearing lipstick” remark regarding Palin, and McCain’s “1000 years of war” combined in my mind.

And, yes, while I don’t have much Black Sabbath music, I do actually own a copy of the album Paranoid (previously brought up in this blog by Sean), and enjoy several songs off of it.

And it is fairly relevant:

Politicians hide themselves away
They only started the war
Why should they go out to fight?
They leave that role to the poor.


Time will tell on their power minds
Making war just for fun
Treating people just like pawns in chess
Wait till their judgment day comes, yeah!

And since we’re on the topic:

Planet Caravan (uploaded by MOWIZER817 )

I find this a surprisingly pretty song for a song by Black Sabbath, being sung by Ozzie Ozbourne. And, of course, I’m a sucker for the nasa photos being used in the video.

Of course, Black Sabbath tried calling themselves “Earth” before “Black Sabbath”, so it might not be that big of a stretch…

Leave a Reply

 
