One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Ridiculous

    Color explosion

    JWL8376  Cuckoo..

    Desert River Clouds

    Dragonfly

    Chrysis duo

    Smoky Mountain Blaze

    Out and up.......

    apricot jam _ week 25/52

    Peaceful

    More Photos

Magnetic Ink

Posted by shanoah on September 4, 2008

You’re right, Sean. We probably should do more on Obama, and I do have a few things hanging around; thing is, they are mostly at least somewhat positive. McCain just has a higher quality of opponent, sadly.

And a lot of what I came with on Sarah Palin was not from direct quotes; just from scouring the net, various blogs, and youtube. You’re much more the reporter then I am (and I only spent a few hours on it), so if you can come up with better sources, so for it.

Today, as a bit of a break, I’ll continue posting some of the music that is deep down somewhere in my conciousness. More of the Moody Blues, for today.

In the Beginning / Lovely To See You

The Moody Blues often do albums in which the first two songs blend into each other. This is the first two tracks from “On The Threshold of a Dream”.

I used to listen to the Moody Blues a lot when I was younger, and “In the Beginning” had wormed into my psyche long before I was a Discordian, and I’d say is probably one of the foundation blocks in my psyche.

First Man: 
I think
I think I am
Therefore I am
I think.

Establishment:
Of course you are, my bright little star.
I've miles and miles
of files, pretty files
of your forefather's fruit
And now to suit our
Great computer;
You're magnetic ink.

First Man:
I'm more than that;
 I know I am,
 at least,
I think I must be.

Inner Man:
There you go, man,
keep as cool as you can.
Face piles and piles
of trials with smiles.
It riles them to believe
that you perceive
the web they weave.
Keep on thinking free.

Procession / The Story in Your Eyes

It seems FizzyDrink posted no less then three of these combined first and second track videos, so I thought I’d post all three.

This one is from “Every Good Boy Deserves Favour”. Procession I think of more as “Then -ion Song” then anything. Brilliantly done, though.

Departure / Ride My See-Saw

And this is classic Moody Blues, from “In Search of the Lost Chord”, a classic album in itself, and one I could listen to over and over again.

And, of course, probably one of my first introductions into crazy laughter, which now tends to underscore my life.

I’ve read about the primal sound, the first sound, the echos of which form the entire universe[1]. Ever considered that that sound might have been maniacal laughter? The universe somehow seems to make a bit more sense that way…

[1] Which, of course, is “the Lost Chord” in the title of the album.

Leave a Reply

 
