One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    The Falls Of Falloch / Eas Fallach

    Red--necked Phalarope

    Macro Monday 2017-06-25 (5D_32A9977-89)

    Broken for Macro Mondays 26th June 2017

    Smashed - HMM

    broken

    There are few things that stay so perfectly useful when broken

    Magic Bulb

    broken

    Macro Monday - Broken

    More Photos

I’m Waiting For The Man

Posted by shanoah on September 2, 2008

Yeah, that’s what I was looking at. Didn’t really have time to cover it, but it was important enough I thought I’d better bring it up.

Today I thought I’d play a song about something more ethical then politics, though. Namely drug-dealing:

I'm Waiting for the Man - Velvet Underground

This video was done by Andy Warhol, and is of a studio session of Velvet Underground doing a song called “I’m Waiting for the Man”.

And, as you may have gathered from the song lyrics, the “man” the singers waiting for, is a drug dealer he’s going to purchase his latest fix from.

The song has been covered a surprising number of times:

I'm Waiting for the Man - Lou Reed & John Cale - Bataclan '72

This one I wouldn’t be that surprised about, though, as Lou Reed & John Cale were two of the main people from Velvet Underground.

This take just somehow feels a little cleaner then the last one.

I'm Waiting for the Man - David Bowie

And this is David Bowies cover. It has a rather different feel, which may be because he was taking different drugs; cocaine rather then heroin.

And, of course, he’s a rather different artist then Velvet Underground.

Note that nothing in this post is meant to imply any support for drug dealing or taking; if you choose to get all hyped up on caffeine after this, and become a powered-sugar-donut snorting, asprin-crazed madman after reading this, it’s totally on you.

Oh, by the way, Sean, do you know what I bought last weekend?

MWAHAHAHA!

One Response to “I’m Waiting For The Man”

  1. […] I’m Waiting For The Man […]

Leave a Reply

 
