One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Scatman

Posted by shanoah on August 27, 2008

Yeah, I tend to ask those type of questions, too, Sean. I hear slogans like “Free Tibet”, for example, and start wondering who’s giving out Free Tibets, and where I can get one.

I’d like a free Tibet, personally. A mountain or two, a temple, a few saffron-wearing elders… It’d be great. But people just shake their heads, and add our site to the list of websites banned in China…

Hopefully, anyways. I’d be a bit irritated to find out that our website was viewable in China, actually. It’d mean that we weren’t doing our job properly.

Anyways, I’ve decided to do todays post on John Paul Larkin, better known as Scatman John.

He actually was a very bad stutterer, and as a kid, started listening to Ella Fitzgerald and Louie Armstrong, who have been featured here before.

He became quite taken with scat singing, and singing has always been a good way to compensate for stuttering. So it made it’s way into his music.

He’s best known for a song from 1994, Scatman:

Scatman

As you can see, he has quite a unique style. It’s rap; It’s jazz; it’s europop; it’s scat-singing; it’s a bit of everything, really.

Another of his albums had a few bonus track that were released in Japan, like this one:

Su Su Su Super Kirei

Somehow, I think this captures the spirit of Japan very well. And there are some great shots of him and his mustache in here.

And he also did a followup to “Scatman”:

Scatman’s World

You know, I just love listening to the scat elements in here. It really is impressive. Sadly, Scatman John and his zoot suit won’t be producing any more music. He passed away in 1999 of lung cancer.

One Response to “Scatman”

  1. […] Scatman […]

Leave a Reply

 
