One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

The Word of the Bird

Posted by shanoah on August 25, 2008

You mean that magical girl that was hanging around, Sean? Oh well, there’s a bit of an overpopulation problem there anyways.

Unfortunately, not only is this the day that I barely have any time after work, all the phrase “The running man” brings to mind right now is a very different type of running man.

The type who doesn’t know how many houses he owns, calls his wife things I couldn’t repeat here, and doesn’t think we’re concerned if America is in Iraq for 50 years, 100, 1000, or 10000.

But enough about him. I had another song I was going to post. I went on a brainstorming session of what songs I could post with it.

And I said to myself, “I know. How about Surfin’ Bird”? Little did I know that the Surfing Bird was going to expand to a post by itself, pushing the other song to another post.

So here we have the Trashmens “Surfin’ Bird”:

Surfin' Bird - The Trashmen

This is a popular song, and a fun one. You’ve all heard it. After all, everybody’s heard about the bird, right?

Well, maybe not. Did you realize that it’s actually a combination of two hits by the Rivingtons? One of which is called “The Bird Is The Word”, a title the Surfin’ Bird often gets given erroneously?

The Bird is the Word - Rivingtons

This song reminds me of, well, the other song I was going to post. I’ll post that another time. You can see the main base of Surfin’ Bird here, though.

And here is the rest:

Papa Oom Mow Mow - Rivingtons

It’s funny how this song turned into the primary chorus of Surfin’ Bird. And what’s scary is there is a sequel to this song “Mama Oom Mow Mow”.

And what’s even scarier is Pee Wee Herman singing Surfin’ Bird:

Surfin' Bird - Back To The Beach 
(movie clip; "sung" by Pee Wee Herman)

Note: If you don’t care for Pee Wee Herman, just be glad I didn’t find a copy of the scene from the movie “Pink Flamingos” with Surfin’ Bird in it[1]…

[1] Of course, one would have to actually be looking for it to find it, and I never intend to do a search with the keywords “Singing anus“[2][3].

[2]Seriously. Check the wikipedia article.

[3] What, I should put that in the keywords for this post? No.

Leave a Reply

 
