One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

(badly dubbed) Ninjas

Posted by shanoah on August 24, 2008

This is sort of sidealong from German music, and partially related to our pirate vs ninja theme we occassionally have going as well.

You see, theres an anime I don’t watch about ninjas, named Naruto.

Ah, I see you’ve heard of it. Everybody and their brother has. That’s why I haven’t watched it. I generally prefer to avoid things that are massively popular, with exceptions.

And if my liking of Harry Potter (or 5 books therein, anyways) seems to violate this, well, my brother had to read part of the first chapter of the first book to me over the phone before I got interested.

But, anyways, surfing youtube, I happened upon the German version of the Naruto opening. And it’s horrible. So bad that I had to share it:

Naruto Opening 1 - German

The pain, the rap. And it’s mostly in English for some reason.

Not that the English version is that much better:

Naruto Opening 1 - English

If you can call it English. Here’s the lyrics:

RISE! Tsuyosa *hiii* *hwaaa*
RISE! *hiii* *hwaaa* RISE! Tsuyosa
RISE! Tsuyosa(x2)

And here is the original Japanese version:

Naruto Opening 1 - Japanese

Not in my top ten or anything, but certainly better then either of the previous two. Thus demonstrating why I generally prefer subbed anime.

Mind you, if I was going to watch an anime involving ninjas, I’d much rather watch Kage Kara Mamoru, in any case:

Kage Kara Mamoru Opening ("Million Love")

It, after all, has a ninja dog, a very well disguised ninja, a ninja rabbit, and, of course, Yuna.

And it’s only 12 episodes, so if you don’t like it, no big loss. I’d personally watch it for no other reason then to see Yuna sing the Banana song:

The Banana Song

Since the subtitles keep getting cut off by the youtube logo, I took the liberty of typing out the words. 🙂

"Then please start by singing your favorite song."
"Okay!"
Banana Banana Banana
Banana Banana Banana de Banana
Why are bananas yellow?
That's the same reason for traffic lights being yellow
Hurry up and eat me or I will turn brown
So hurry up and eat me
That is what banana is saying
That is why bananas are yellow
Banana Banana Banana
Banana Banana Banana de Banana
One Response to “(badly dubbed) Ninjas”

  1. […] (badly dubbed) Ninjas […]

Leave a Reply

 
