One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

8-24-08 The Running Man

Posted by Sean on August 24, 2008

You had to bring up Japanimation, didn’t you, Shanoah? You had to do it! I TOLD YOU NOT TO DO IT, BUT YOU DID IT ANYWAY! NOW THE CUTE LITTLE REDHEADED GIRL GETS IT BETWEEN THE EYES!

Anyway.

I was trying to think of an appropriate way to respond to your post; the off-our-meds English-dubbed opening to One Piece came to mind, although I’m not sure your mind is quite ready for that kind of, ahem, enlighenment. But then I suddenly remembered a Japanese cartoon that I saw when I was a kid back in the Paleolithic Age. I didn’t know anything about it besides the name: The Running Man. (And no, not that Running Man. This Running Man had that Running Man beat hands down)

Luckily, YouTube’s search engine sighed in gentle exasperation, like it always does when I swing by, and gave me the goods.

Some details: The Running Man, directed by Yoshiaki Kawajiri, is one of a 1987 trilogy of cartoons called Meikyû monogatari, released here in the USA in 1992 as Neo-Tokyo or Labyrinth Tales. It was also shown on MTV’s Liquid Television – yet another show from the 1990s that transcended the basic suckiness of MTV and was one of the few last gasps of good television on that channel before Total Request Live and The Real World sunk their fangs into its throat for good.

Offered without further comment, except that I watched this while the closing ceremonies for the Olympics were playing in the other room. Weird bit of synchronicity there.

Part 1 courtesy of Echoptics.

Part 2 (plus the end credits from Liquid Television, hoo ha!) courtesy of ZappVid6.

One Response to “8-24-08 The Running Man”

  1. […] 8-24-08 The Running Man […]

Leave a Reply

 
