One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Jessie & Stacy

Posted by shanoah on August 20, 2008

Life on Mars? If I had more time, I’d follow up on that one, especially as David Bowie seems to grace these pages fairly often.

As it stands, I’m going to go with something I’d been planning on posting for a bit.

First, a Rick Springfield tune from the 80’s:

Jessie's Girl - Rick Springfield

A classic song about a guy who’s got a crush on his best friends girlfriend. Looks like he gets seven years of bad luck while making the video, too.

And naturally, this was the first thing I thought of when I first heard this song on the radio:

Stacys Mom - Fountains of Wayne

While I like the song, it is so much a variation of Jessie’s Girl thematically, it’s ridiculous. Still, it’s catchy, has Rachel Hunter in it, and has poledancing. And more then it’s share of entendres. Single entendres, mostly.

The two will always be connected in my mind, though. Of course, musically, the opening was inspired by The Cars “Just What I Needed”:

Just What I Needed - The Cars

And, no, those chords are not actually sampled from this song. They claim to have spent a good deal of time duplicating them.

One Response to “Jessie & Stacy”

  1. […] Jessie & Stacy […]

Leave a Reply

 
