One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Macro Monday 2017-06-25 (5D_32A9977-89)

    Broken for Macro Mondays 26th June 2017

    Smashed - HMM

    broken

    Magic Bulb

    broken

    Macro Monday - Broken

    broken star stopper

    Broken

    Norwegian  Chill

    More Photos

Africa

Posted by shanoah on August 12, 2008

Good idea. And I’ll keep on playing music, or going wherever my muse takes me.

That was a pretty cool video, and I honestly wasn’t sure where to go next with todays post. So somehow, I decided on Africa:

Africa - Toto

This is another of these songs that I absolutely love. Enough that I filked it at one point. A lot of it, once again, is the lyrics.

I stopped an old man along the way
Hoping to find some long forgotten words or ancient melodies
He turned to me as if to say, hurry boy, it’s waiting there for you

From here, I decided to actually go to music being played in Africa. Zimbabwe, to be specific:

Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes - Paul Simon
with Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Joseph Shabalala, 
Ray Phiri, & Miriam Makeba

This is from Paul Simon’s Graceland tour, with the awesome band Ladysmith Black Mambazo on backup, as well as several other great musicians. I recommend watching the whole concert, actually. Great Stuff.

I found myself recalling all the lyrics as I was listening to this song. And I don;t think I’ve played my copy of Graceland for a few years. I’ll have to put it back in rotation. And check out Ladysmith Black Mambazo on their own sometime. They’re pretty good.

I was thinking of playing the Tokens “The Lion Sleeps Tonight” next, but ended up here instead:

The Guitar (the Lion Sleeps Tonight) - They Might Be Giants

This is a great track from Apollo 18. Typical for TMBG, I couldn’t help but be amused by some of the lyrics.

In the spaceship,
the silver spaceship,
the lion takes control.

Beautifully surreal.

One Response to “Africa”

  1. […] Africa […]

Leave a Reply

 
