One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Sister Christian’s Golden Island

Posted by shanoah on August 3, 2008

I was actually planning on doing another political post, this time with anti-both candidate songs, and more interspersed positive and negative songs on both sides.

I have them ready, (Including that well-known song “Bomb, Bomb, Bomb, Bomb, Bomb Iran“), enough for more then one post, in fact, but I decided to take a break for a post, to prevent an overdose of politics.

Too much politics can be lethal.

And my reaction to cheerleaders has always been something along these lines:

How loose; how loose; how loose is my goose…

The anthropologist studies the natives carefully from afar as they do what appears to be a primitive fertility ritual. There is much room for study in the quaint customs of –

My goose; My goose is totally loose…

*sigh*

In any case, today I have two themes going on; Sisters and Christians. Not to mention the usual theme of “songs I really like”.

But with all the politics going on, it’s rather appropriate that the first song is by America:

Sister Golden Hair – America

Honestly, I think everyone knows this song. It’s heartfelt, with lovely lyrics. Oh, and did you know the line “Will you meet me in the middle; Will you meet me in the air?” was originally “Will you meet me in VA?”?

Early on, Jackson Browne misheard it, and Gerry Beckley decided he preferred the misheard version.

And now, lets segue from Sister Golden Hair to Sister Christian:

Sister Christian – Night Ranger

This song, OTOH, is about how fast Night Rangers drummer, Kelly Keegy’s sister Christy was growing up. She, apparently, was mortified by it.

So, no, no fancy metaphors or anything. Of course the hook in the song for me has to be:

You’re motoring
What’s your price for flight
In finding mister right
You’ll be alright tonight

And now, from one Christian to a whole island of them:

Christian Island – Gordon Lightfoot

Gordon Lightfoot shows his usual skill at writing songs here. Incidentally, Christian Island is an island in Ontario, populated mainly by American Indians. Who, naturally, are not particularly known for being Christians. Funny how things work out.

This is the type of song that just takes you away from where you are, and puts you right in the middle of the scene he’s describing. Some songs help you get more riled up; this is the type that you just can’t help but relax.

Tall and strong she slips along
I sing for her a song
And she leans into the wind
Shes a good old boat and she’ll stay afloat
Through the toughest gales and keep smilin’
When the summer ends we will rest again
In the lee of Christian Island

Of course Gordon Lightfoot has an incredible voice. He could probably sing verses involving gunning down small children, and I’d still enjoy listening to it, until the lyrics kicked in.[1]

That’s it for today, though. I’ll probably be back to politics tomorrow, and possibly even people shooting laser beams out of their eyes.

[1] The sad thing is that I originally wrote such a verse for this post, but deleted it.[2]

[2] Not because of delicate sensibilities. Because I didn’t like the scansion.[3]

[3] I can be very picky about these things. That’s why a lot of filks and parodies I start never make it.[4]

[4]Whee! Footnotes![5]

[5] And I actually picked up the multiple footnote thing during a period where I posted to alt.fan.douglas-adams a lot, Sean. Besides whimsical use of footnotes, there were also things like entire threads of conversation without the letter ‘e’.[6]

[6] Which is difficult to do. How long can you go without “the”, “he”, “she”, “very”, “ever”, lots of basic words you don’t think about?

[7] There is no footnote 7. [7]

One Response to “Sister Christian’s Golden Island”

  1. […] Sister Christian’s Golden Island […]

Leave a Reply

 
