One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

8-2-08 Silly Season – We The Happy Proletariat Adore Our Fearless Leader

Posted by Sean on August 3, 2008

Y’know, sometimes the posts just write themselves.

As an independent thinking person, I am deeply suspicious of any song that touts any politician. Whenever I hear one, I’m always convinced that the next line is going to be about how the Happy People Love Their Great Leader, not to mention how The Great Proletariat Revolution Will Make The Imperialist Lackeys Drown In Oceans Of Their Own Blood. (I have the same reaction to cheerleaders. I’m always convinced that they’re going to end their cheers with “What’s that spell!” “Sun Myung Moon!”)

Anyhoo, your neat things (or thing, as I couldn’t find one of them on YouTube or Daily Motion) are from that very special dimly-lit corner of creepiness, the political song.

You may have heard that John Rich, of the country duo Big and Rich, has written a song in praise of John McCain with the jaw-droppingly clever title of Raising McCain. I know it’s true, my Associated Press tells me so. (Interesting commentary at Raising Kaine which, despite its name, is not pro-McCain)

Beth Fouhy of AP reports, “… the singer-songwriter has penned lyrics for a rock-infused anthem focused on the 5 1/2 years Republican presidential candidate John McCain spent as a prisoner of war in Vietnam and his refusal of an early release.” Some of the lyrics go: ‘”He stayed strong, stayed extra long til they let all the other boys out. Now we’ve got a real man with an American plan, we’re going to put him in the big White House,” with the refrain: “We’re all just raising McCain.”‘

Bush was supposed to be a “real man”, too, and look where it got us.

Rich debuted the song at a McCain campaign stop in Florida on Aug. 1 (if I’m reading the dates right) and unfortunately I can’t find a video of the song anywhere. This seems like a huge oversight on the part of McCain’s campaign. I mean, you’d think they’d have it up by now in order to give the blogosphere a chance to tear it apart. Ingrates. Look for that McCainalicious song on this bat channel in the coming days.

(As a side note, his partner, Big Kenny Alphin, donated $2,300 to Barack Obama’s campaign last year. I can’t make this stuff up. I’m not that good)

But you didn’t think we’d leave Obama unscathed, didja? Oh mais non, we may support Obama, but we here at One Neat Thing a Day are Equal Opportunity Raggers, and our duty is clear.

Ludacris recently released a pro-Obama song called Politics as Usual, off a mixtape called Gangsta Grillz: The Preview. Obama’s campaign has since come out against the song, calling it “outrageously offensive”. Story at Contact Music, among many other places, here.

Now, I don’t see why Obama is hating on Ludacris. I mean, what could possibly be wrong with lyrics like these (full spread at Live Leak here):

  • (Obama) Said I handled his biz and I’m one of his favorite rappers/Well give Luda a special pardon if I’m ever in the slammer
  • Hillary hated on you, so that bitch is irrelevant
  • McCain don’t belong in ANY chair unless he’s paralyzed
  • Yeah I said it cause Bush is mentally handicapped/Ball up all of his speeches and I throw ’em like candy wrap/’Cause what you talking I hear nothing even relevant/And you the worst of all 43 presidents (Sean: Ok, this I can agree with)

But don’t listen to me. Click play and decide for yourself. Courtesy of fr3ship.

2 Responses to “8-2-08 Silly Season – We The Happy Proletariat Adore Our Fearless Leader”

  1. […] 8-2-08 Silly Season – We The Happy Proletariat Adore Our Fearless Leader […]

  2. […] 8-2-08 Silly Season – We The Happy Proletariat Adore Our Fearless Leader […]

Leave a Reply

 
