One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Lots of Weirdness

Posted by shanoah on July 31, 2008

You know what Sex (I’m A) reminds me of, Sean?

Like a lot of things, Weird Al Yankovic. Specifically, this Polka from his “In 3d” album:

Polkas on 45

Yes, one of the songs in his Polka Medley for this album was “Sex (I’m A)”, and I’m certain that’s where I first heard it.

Of course, Al’s always been a bit off the deep end.

And if you’ve heard his concerts, you may know he also plays medleys of old and unreleased music of his at them. More on that in a minute.

But first, a commercial break:

Got Milk? (The Weird Al Show)

All right, I’m back. And now for a recording of a screen at Dementia 2001 that was showing a medley from a Weird Al concert in 1997. In two parts:

Weird Al Medley 1997 – Part 1

And Part 2

The songs, in order, are:

Laundry Day*
Chicken Pot Pie*
Spam
My Bologna
Alimony
Syndicated Inc
Another One Rides The Bus
Gee I'm A Nerd
--
Achy Breaky Song
Phony Calls
Cavity Search
Green Eggs & Ham*
Eat It
*Unreleased

I think “Gee, I’m a Nerd” in here is just great. Oh, and Chicken Pot Pie never made it onto a cd simply because Paul McCartney, as a vegetarian, didn’t want it on an album.

Silly, really. I’m a vegetarian, and I think it’s cool…

Leave a Reply

 
