One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Big Country

Posted by shanoah on July 30, 2008

Don’t worry, Sean. I probably wasn’t that clear about it in my original post. Unfortunately, when I create these posts means that I often don’t really have time for a final polish on my posts.

Which is why some of my better posts are ones that have sat in the draft section for at least a few days. At that, I think you’re still a good deal better at writing then I am. Though posting here on a regular basis is helping me a lot.

I’ve always been better at finding things, actually. Which is probably why I do so well at coming up with things to post.

And if you weren’t suited to be a reporter, I think it’d be more due to your creativity. I could see you doing, say, reporting for the Onion. (Which I’ve always thought would be a fun job to have…)

Anyways, so you said you aren’t a Big Country fan? Well, I am, to an extent, so I think I’ll play them:

In A Big Country – Big Country

What, that’s not what you meant? Ah. Good.

I always did like this song for some reason. Certain lyrics linger a bit:

"I'm not expecting to grow flowers in the desert
But I can live and breathe and see the sun in wintertime..."

Nice positive uplifting song from a Scottish band that will never be together again due to the lead singer hanging himself.

Incidentally, my underlying theme for today is probably songs featured on VH1’s “Where Are They Now”, though there are other themes tying them together.

Kyrie – Mr. Mister

And here we are with a spiritual, of sorts. Kyrie Eleison, of course, is Greek for “Lord, Have Mercy”, and features in many prayers, especially in Coptic churches (as I’m sure you know, Sean). Mister is also translated as Kyrie in Greek, incidentally.

This song just grabs you, though. How can it not, with lyrics like this?

The wind blows hard against this mountainside
Across the sea into my soul
It reaches into where I cannot hide
Setting my feet upon the road

Ah well. On the road to the next song…

Life In A Northern Town – The Dreamland Academy

As I may have expressed, I have a weakness for songs that tell a story. This song just spirits you away. And it is actually dedicated to Nick Drake.

Nick may actually be worthy of his own post some time, if I remember, actually.

One Response to “Big Country”

  1. […] Big Country […]

Leave a Reply

 
