One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Macro Monday 2017-06-25 (5D_32A9977-89)

    Broken for Macro Mondays 26th June 2017

    Smashed - HMM

    broken

    Magic Bulb

    broken

    Macro Monday - Broken

    broken star stopper

    Broken

    Norwegian  Chill

    More Photos

The Circle

Posted by shanoah on July 16, 2008

The circle is complete, hmmm? But which circle would that be?

The Circle of Life?

The Circle of Life (Multilanguage version)

Thought I’d put the cool multilingual version here, which cycles between languages as it progresses…

A Circle of Steel?

Circle of Steel – Gordon Lightfoot

I really enjoy a number of Gordon Lightfoot songs, including this one. He just manages some absolutely beautiful imagery occassionally in his lyrics.

Perhaps we have to be in the Center of the Circle?

Cleanup Time – John Lennon

You know, Double Fantasy has to be the quintissential John Lennon album in my opinion, for all that it is his last one.

“The Center of the Circle will always be Our Home.”

Absolutely, John.

Or maybe it’s a wheel?

Watching the Wheels – John Lennon

As I have mentioned, I love the album “Double Fantasy”. Perhaps that’s why I’m playing two songs from it. But then, this is another one of these songs that really is somewhat of a personal theme song, that echoes and reverberates for me.

2 Responses to “The Circle”

  1. […] The Circle […]

  2. […] Posted by shanoah on May 16, 2009 Well, Sean, I don’t think either of us could ever be the solid citizen fnord , the fnord happy fnord patriotic fnord blue collar worker fnord. We both tend more to be loners, outsiders, just sitting here watching the wheels go round and round. […]

Leave a Reply

 
