One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Hugga Wugga & Monkeys

Posted by shanoah on July 6, 2008

Operation Mindcrime does sound interesting, Sean.

Except now he had a philosophy, and that made him dangerous.”

For some reason, the quote that pops into my head when reading that is “I think too much – therefore I am mad!“. But then, my mind often makes strange associations like that.

But for my neat thing of the day, I thought I’d head back to the Muppet Show:

Hugga Wugga

In spirit this reminds me a bit of Mahna Mahna. Still, this sketch is a lot of fun.It’s catchy, funky, and rather entertaining with the bits of “You Are My Sunshine” going through it.

And I thought I’d include a bit of a Disney film I always liked, while I’m at it:

I Wanna Be Like You

Yes, it’s Disney, which is a big evil corporation these days. Still, I have to enjoy this bit with Louis Prima singing from the Jungle Book. And I’ll admit it, it’s mainly because of the scat singing going back and forth between King Louie and Baloo (Phil Harris) at the end.

Lovely stuff that the Jonas Brothers should never have gotten near. And, while Smash Mouth’s cover (to loop around to my last post somewhat) was better, it still can’t match the original.

Though, you know, watching, that bit at the beginning where King Louie picks up Mogli by the head with his feet, and strokes his hair is rather disturbing[1]. I suppose he should be glad it was just “Man’s red fire” Louie was after.

[1] Right at the beginning, after calling himself a swinger, while telling Mogli he “wants to be a man”.

One Response to “Hugga Wugga & Monkeys”

  1. […] Hugga Wugga & Monkeys […]

Leave a Reply

 
