One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

More Science Fiction

Posted by shanoah on July 2, 2008

I recall both of those Doctor Who openings well, Sean. In fact, I’ve actually seen at least one episode for every Doctor between Harnell and McCoy, and they changed the opening for each one.

Youtube seems to have clean sequences for all of them, too. Of course, when you titled the last post “Doctor Who- The Time Tunnel”, my mind immediately went somewhere completely different:

The Time Tunnel

That is the real time tunnel opening, though I know what you meant.

There’s been a lot of classic science fiction, though. I always liked shows that made you think. Like the Prisioner:

The Prisoner – Uncut Opening

The opening pretty much tells you the story: A secret agent resigns, and is gassed, and wakes up in a place only known as the villiage, where the have “given him a number, and taken away his name”.

He makes repeated attempts to escape, and they make various attempts to try to find out why he resigned. He is, however, very stubborn:

I Am Not A Number!

Loved that show, though we never really do get satisfying answers. Another show that I didn’t watch much of, but I thought was very cool was Sapphire & Steel:

Sapphire & Steel opening

Very unusual and occassionally rather creepy show, where the thread of space-time can be worn thin, and much strangeness can ensue.

First episode had “Ring-a-Ring-a-Rosies“[1] in an old house at just the wrong time causing Time to break in and steal the childs parents.

I really need to pick up a box set of this show some day…

[1] Also know as Ring Around the Rosies. You know, someting like this:

Ring a-ring o’ roses,
A pocketful of posies.
a-tishoo!, a-tishoo!.
We all fall down.

or this

Ring around the rosies,
A pocketful of posies.
Ashes, ashes,
All fall down!

A cheerful childrens song about the Black Plague. And you don’t know how tempted I am to throw a Grateful Dead video in right now…

Leave a Reply

 
