One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

    Macro Monday 2017-06-25 (5D_32A9977-89)

    Broken for Macro Mondays 26th June 2017

    Smashed - HMM

    broken

    Magic Bulb

    broken

    Macro Monday - Broken

    broken star stopper

    Broken

    Norwegian  Chill

    More Photos

6-23-08 Ludwig Van Beethoven – “Ode to Joy”: Ninth Symphony, Fourth Movement

Posted by Sean on June 23, 2008

Sorry, Shanoah. Wish I could follow up on those. But not today. I got to celebrate the Summer Solstice right and proper today, which I should have done over the weekend but which events prevented me from doing (or so I like to excuse myself).

So I’m going to set aside my East Coast snarkiness, if only for today, and present the one song that seems appropriate for today: the choral fourth movement of Ludwig Van Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, better known as Ode to Joy. I could make a snide reference to A Clockwork Orange right now, and if it were any other day I would. But not now.

This is Herbert von Karajan conducting the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra through the fourth movement. It’s broken up into two parts, both parts courtesy of Cebollaaa.

Here’s part one, which has all the more well-known bits. And it has English translations, so you actually know what they’re singing about, makes the song more meaningful. You didn’t know Ode to Joy was quite this religious, this ecstatic, did you? Well, now you know.

And here’s part two, with some lesser known but still rockin’ bits, especially the thunderous wrap-up. The closed captioning conks out for large swaths of this segment, but you still get the gist of it.

Here’s to no excuses and no need for excuses next year and forever more.

Leave a Reply

 
