One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Good

Posted by shanoah on June 8, 2008

Alice Cooper is a good choice for the evil theme, as would be Marilyn Manson. If I hadn’t been tied to “Evil” in the title, I likely would have gone there, though you already posted my favorite Marilyn Manson song.

Now, those of you that have been following this blog for a while were probably expecting my theme for this post. After all, if nothing else, I love balance, and after dedicating a post to Evil, I have to dedicate one to Good to maintain my Chaotic Neutral status.

Even if those idiots at Wizards of the Coast don’t think it’s a real alignment anymore. 😦

Good Vibrations – Beach Boys

Perhaps this is my California upbringing showing, but I think the Beach Boys have done some great music. And, you’ve got to admit this song is unmistakable. Gives me a similar feeling to Simon & Garfunkel’s “Feeling Groovy”, really, but there’s enough time to explore why I like a good number of Simon & Garfunkel songs (despite some people not considering it cool) at a later time.

Good Lovin’ – Bobby McFerrin

All right, this is just so hyper and strange I had to include it. A song that required no less then 5 Bobby McFerrin’s. I couldn’t help cracking up during this. He’s so shamelessly playing the whole thing up; it’s brilliant.

Be Good Johnny – Men At Work

I always liked this song, and I’m not totally sure why. Probably for the same anti-authoritarian type themes that govern Supertramp’s “Bloody Well Right” & “School”, and Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick in the Wall”, all three of which I love.

And now that I’ve thought about it, don’t be surprised if I post youtube videos of those three songs in the near future… πŸ™‚

What A Good Boy – Barenaked Ladies

Another song I love; Not that I usually play music I don’t like here or anything. And I’ve previously expressed how much I like Barenaked Ladies. This song, for me, is one of these songs that I hear enough of myself in that I have to love it.

Because, really, the song is all about labels being hung on you, and being afraid to break away from them, but being afraid to let them define your life. At least, that’s how I interpret the lyrics.

And people don’t really realize how horrible and suffocating it can be to be the good one, the smart one, and have that to live up to. It’s as bad as labeling them as bad or stupid, in its way. But then, all labels are bad, and words are your minds way of pigeonholing the universe, and everything in it.

In fact, that is what Zen is all about, for the curious. Getting to a state where you just see the world, without seeing a rock, a stick, a tree, a jerk cutting through traffic, etc. Easy to grasp, hard to do.

Not sure how I got to Zen from Barenaked Ladies, but both topics interest me… πŸ™‚

One Response to “Good”

  1. […] shanoah on October 28, 2008 Well, you know, Sean, I remembered having posted Men At Work’s Be Good Johnny before, and I figured Down Under would have been posted by one of us around […]

Leave a Reply

 
