One Neat Thing a Day

Or two or three or four or…

  • Subscribe

  • Who is us?

    Sean Daily is an English major from New Jersey now living in Las Vegas, the Other City of Lights. "I consider 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' to be comfort reading, I like the al pastor tacos at Tacos Mexico and I count among my literary influences the Chainsaw from 'Doom'. 'RRRRRR! You don't like that, do you, Mr. Undead Marine! RRRRRR!'"

    Shanoah Alkire is our Discordian at large. "Born in Santa Cruz, I grew up in Grass Valley and the Bay Area, and now lurk in Las Vegas. My literary influences include Ray Bradbury, Lewis Carroll, and Douglas Adams. I also program as a hobby, and currently maintain the Gtk port of Angband. You can find a rather old bio of me here."

  • Flickr Photos

Bibliomancy

Posted by shanoah on May 28, 2008

As regards to the bible code, if you’re persistant enough you could prove anything from it. If you look at the method for it, there are enough variables that you could pick out anything you wanted, really. Especially since we’re talking the Hebrew alphabet, which doesn’t have vowels.

I’d say it’s about as useful as other forms of divination; better for being cryptic, or telling you things you subconsciously already believe then anything else. It’s useful, but more as a method of tapping into your subconscious then anything else.

I personally think bibliomancy is more fun. Pull a book off the shelf, concentrate on a problem or question, open it to a random page, pick out a random spot, read for a paragraph or two, and try to apply it to your problem. Of course, a lot depends on your choice of books.

Just for fun, let’s see what comes up. The election was on my mind, but this tends to be more of what you need to hear:

“Thus when a new leader is chosen,
don’t offer to help him
with your wealth or experience.
Offer instead
to teach him about the Tao.”

Tao Te Ching, #62; translation by Stephen Mitchell

(Honestly, that’s the first thing I flipped to. No fudging involved.)

I went out to the hazel wood,
"Because a fire was in my head,
And cut and peeled a hazel wand,
And hooked a berry to a thread.
And when white moths were on the wing
And moth-like stars were flickering out,
I dropped the berry in a stream
And caught a little silver trout."
"The Song of Wandering Angus", Yeats; From "Anam Cara"

“Wealth is not to be measured in terms of assets, but rather in terms of control over people and material, and thus ultimately your own experiences. Money is an abstract concept used to quantify economic activity, thus wealth is a measure of how well you control your experiences with money…”

Liber Kaos, Peter Carroll

“The soul of the dear made it’s plea in a dream because, without my loving permission, it either would not or could not go. As soon as I agreed, it departed.”

Autobiography of a Yogi, Parmahansa Yogananda

“They walked all four abreast, for this part of the Southern Road, passing through flat and rolling farmland, was wide. Michael walked to the right, Asmodai next to him, then Lucifer and Lillith. These latter touched hands from time to time. The braver among those they passed would step out for a better view of her walking away.”

To Reign In Hell, Steven Brust

As you can see, it varies from likely irrelevant, to dead on, and what book you use makes a big difference. You probably can see how strange my library is, too, though I deliberately used books I thought would be likely to have interesting quotes. Feel like doing it with a Hunter Thompson book or two, Sean?

Another thing that’s evident; these were in the order I picked them, and it’s pretty clear that the most relevant hits were near the beginning. I don’t usually do 5 in a row. 🙂 The first one was perfect, though. My mind started wandering afterwards…

Oh, and for anyone that feels like some sort of mystical mood is necessary, here’s the Goddess Chant, from EKB TV:

One Response to “Bibliomancy”

  1. […] Bibliomancy …were flickering out, I dropped the berry in a stream And caught a little silver trout." "The Song of Wandering Angus", Yeats; From "Anam Cara" […]

Leave a Reply

 
